Day 97

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readApr 28, 2017

I’m working from home today, so have the luxury of taking Stormy to school myself. We leave early so we have time to stop off at ToastBox for a breakfast treat. As we scoot to school, she tells me about one of her classmates who won’t stop touching her. It’s not violent or inappropriate, but continuous. Stormy has made it clear that it’s her body and she get’s to choose who touches it, but that doesn’t seem to stop him. I stop myself from recommending that she punch him in the nose, but tell her that I’ll speak to her teachers about it.

She arrives home on the school bus and is excited about her friends birthday pool-party this afternoon. Years ago I made a promise to Stormy that I wouldn’t miss key events in her childhood. Like taking her to friend’s birthday parties. However I must say that organising a party on a Friday afternoon, during work hours, is rather pushing it. :-)

Anyway, we pack up her stuff, hop in a taxi, collect her best-friend on the way (I’m looking forward to calling in that favour), and make our way to the party. The two of them immediately jump in the pool and take full advantage of the extra time with their school friends. I chat with all the other mothers there and generally try and make friends. One of the mothers has my daughters name and it gets a little awkward when I start yelling at her to be careful or just generally to be civilised.

Before long the party is over and it’s time for Movie night. We watch a weird cartoon about the Day of the Dead, which may or may not be appropriate, but which Stormy enjoys anyway. After, it’s the usual struggle with getting her into bed. Her threats are becoming rather creative and effective now. “You don’t want me to cry loudly do you?” she exclaims. I still call her bluff and she eventually goes to bed.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 96) | Tomorrow (Day 98) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.