Day 99

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad
2 min readApr 30, 2017

Our day begins with a girl. A special girl. A headstrong girl. A girl who has very clear expectations of what she doesn’t want for breakfast. After several false starts, I break out the oats and make porridge. And so the day begins.

I’ve arranged a play-date with her best friend this afternoon so it’s up to me to keep her occupied until 3pm. She rejects most of the ideas, but the allure of the pool is too great. We get into our swimmers and head down. We meet a number of her friends (who I opportunistically invite to pancakes tomorrow morning) and they play.

I say play, but this was no ordinary play. It was a sustained, ritualistic, assault against my person. Unending and unforgiving.

Hours pass.

After a brief interlude for a late lunch, her friend arrives. My soul crushed, we return to the pool. I am once again set upon by an endless and mighty torrent of excitement. Chaotic and without a goal. Pushing the limits of endurance of any mortal man. Tides of energy, pulling from one side to the other without surcease.

But, to be honest, it was a great day.

« First Day | ‹ Yesterday (Day 98) | Tomorrow (Day 100) › | Final Day »

--

--

Evan Leybourn
Diary of a Single(ish) Dad

Business Geek in a three piece suit: Everything from Agile Business Management (author of Directing the Agile Organisation) to 30's pulp SF. Tweets are my own.