We Want You to Write for Us! Home Sweet Home September 2020 Newsletter

Laura Fox
Family Matters
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readSep 2, 2020
Photo by Diana Akhmetianova on Unsplash

Happy September!

It’s a new month so it’s time for a new Home Sweet Home writing prompt.

What Does Family Mean to You?

We want to hear your views on the meaning of family and how your experiences have shaped this. You can find out more information here.

If you have never written for Home Sweet Home but would like to, then this prompt could be a good start! After you have read the prompt rules linked above, Home Sweet Home’s Submission Guidelines and FAQ, please send a link to an unpublished Medium draft to laurafoxwriter@gmail.com with “September 2020 Prompt” as the subject.

The Winner of August’s Writing Prompt

I sat for a few minutes, not able to get the words out of my mouth, my poor mother having no idea what was coming. Eventually, I spat it out, “Mummy, he’s been violent to me and I’m leaving him, can I have your support?”

The winner of August’s Writing Prompt on difficult conversations with family members is I’m Leaving Him Mum by Alex Andra. Alex was very brave to share her story of telling her mother that she was experiencing domestic violence. Well done, Alex. Your piece will make other survivors feel less alone.

Best of August

Each month, we select five pieces that stood out the most. These will appear on the home page but you can also click below to give them a read.

A Child is Like a Box of Chocolates by Meaghan Ward

Parent Shaming About Schooling During a Pandemic Misses the Point by Jeanne Yacoubou, MS

How I Accidentally Became a Resentful Mom by Michelle Marie Warner

The Bad Dads from Popular Culture Set the Bar Too Low for Real Fathers by David Fox

Empty Nest Grieving is Real by Mason Sabre

Thank you for supporting Home Sweet Home as either a writer, reader, or both!

Laura and David

--

--

Laura Fox
Family Matters

I write to heal myself and others. Instagram: @laure_e_fox_