1 — Rekindling

Sheldon Cooper
Renaissance Human
Published in
3 min readApr 12, 2021

In quest of figuring out what I want to do in life, I’ve decided to learn and explore seven skills everyday.

This post is part of my Re Human project, in which I copied from Valentin.

This is probably my third time attempting to do this challenge consistently. If there’s anything that I’ve learnt it’s that no matter how long the journey takes, ceaselessly striving and failing will empower you to reach the destination in the end.

So, going through the motions

Coding: Learning how to use Swift using the tutorials on Swift Playground that are, in fact, designed for seven year olds. This drawing sums it up:

image on the left: the Swift tutorial | image on the right: a funny comic that explains Swift programming at its core (which is from here)

Running: Psychologically, it’s an interesting phenomenon how we can complain about things yet miss it dearly when we’re unable to do it.

Whenever the weekend nears, I absolutely loathe it because I know I’ll be hiking. I attempt to make excuses, dispense all the vulgar words in heated discourse within my mind, and drag my unwilling legs. These recent weeks, I’ve been feeling good and comfortable with hiking to an extent that I climb faster and run downhill. One thing led to another, I stepped on an uneven rock, my ankle snapped like fresh chopsticks and I thrust towards the ground.

Which means I won’t be able to hike or run for the next four to six weeks in virtue of healing my ridden ankle and surprise surprise, I’m sad about it.

i take on having a third cast, private clinics (insurance covered, of course, yet makes me feel oddly uncomfortable), and some good donuts.

Chess: I wrote previously that I wanted to get around to reading the book list of chess books and so far, I haven’t read much except Bobby Fischer’s 60 Games.

I’m also quite pleased I play chess whenever I’m bored instead of opening and closing the same three social apps…

game of the day | hours spent on chess (netflix is an embarrassing amount)

Academics: Yes! Last final stretch for two weeks then I’m done baby 🥳 Pumped for finals :)

Writing: Been going on a writer’s spree since I’m participating in WEDA which is a challenge to write everyday in April so hopefully that works out! Links to my latest articles:

Book Reviews

Coherent Ramblings

Thanks for reading! :) If you enjoyed this article, hold the clap 👏 button for a couple of seconds to show it some love. This way, more people will be able to find and benefit from these articles (from Cliff).

If you liked this article, you might enjoy the previous days too — see: Day 1, Day 2 and Day 3

--

--