A Newsletter from Know Yourself #13

The Cure For Writer’s Block

Jonathan Greene
Know Yourself
4 min readNov 1, 2020

--

Photo by William Farlow on Unsplash

Welcome to the monthly newsletter from Know Yourself. Know Yourself is a publication full of writing prompts, brought to you by Assemblage, that serves as a guide to helping you understand yourself better. It’s here for all writers, all the time.

We now have 70 prompts to choose from when you need a little help getting through a bout of writer’s block or if you just want to write and want someone to tell you what to write about. It’s not difficult. Write a story. Write a poem. Write a response. Write a letter. But write something.

These newsletters go out once a month (and sometimes every other month) on Sundays and highlight all of the responses we’ve had in the past month. It also previews the new writing prompt for the next month, but feel free to use any prompt, any time.

Collection

Collections are groupings of writing prompt responses to the same prompt. You can find Collections on the home page underneath the Featured Stories, and Monthly Writing Prompt block. This week we released our first collection, Bucket List.

Bucket List features 4 essays from 4 different writers that answer the prompt, #37. Write down 10 things for your bucket list. This section is a great way to get acquainted with multiple works around one theme, as well as to find writers you haven’t read before or ones you shouldn’t miss. Take a look at our Collection this week and see what you’ve missed.

Bucket List features responses from Jonathan Greene, Pamela J. Nikodem, MS, Estrella Ramirez, and Lark Morrigan.

Collection: Bucket List

Responses to Our Writing Prompts Since the Last Newsletter

Turns Out, My Love Is Conditional by Cara Harbstreet (She/Her) — a response to #63: What have you learned about yourself from previous relationships?

“I didn’t have the perspective or language to fully encapsulate it at the time, but in hindsight, it’s clearer to me that what I was experiencing was a slow suffocation. My ability to grow as a person was being hampered by the fact that I was settling for the expected life path with someone who was not right for me.”

I Was the One Who Left by Jonathan Greenea response to #44. Write about the friend that moved away.

“We sit on text chains. We do Zooms. We meet up when we can. We talk about our families. We talk about life. We talk about sports. But we still talk about what it was like growing up together. Those unique ties that bind us. The connection we didn’t lose when I was the one who left.”

Some Things I Regret by Samantha Lazara response to #2: What do you most regret so far?

“I regret the person I was when I was in this relationship. I was lost and really young. I did so much I regret. I could not spread my wings and start my adult life because I spent four years attached to an extremely unhealthy relationship.”

High School Embarrassment? Don’t Get Me Started by Em Unravelling — a response to #25. Write about an embarrassing high school experience.

“Immediately, within seconds of boarding the school bus on that auspicious October day, I recognised that my shoes were wrong, and my bag was wrong, and my hair was styled entirely wrong. Everything was completely wrong.”

When Do I Feel Happiest? by Lark Morrigana response to #49. When do you feel happiest?

“I’m happiest when I feel most like myself — when I am not anxious to prove anything and not caught up with all the mind games and whether I’d win or lose them based on others’ (again, hypothetical) harsh opinions of me.”

Photo by Yoann Boyer on Unsplash

Our Monthly Writing Prompt

#70. What were you afraid of most as a child?

All you have to do is write an answer. Anything. No more, no less. Get to know yourself and allow us to get to know you in the process. Let it out of you and leave it on the page.

The Goal

Once the publication starts filling up (we are almost there), the homepage will be segmented by each prompt so that readers can take a deep dive into an important life question but from many different viewpoints. This is where it’s going to get fun.

Request to Write for Know Yourself

We are open to all writers who want to get to know themselves. The only requirements are that you answer the writing prompt, you code the subtitle of your story to fit our guidelines (Know Yourself #), and the first header of your story is the question posed by the writing prompt. This is so readers can easily find consistent pieces on the same prompt. Look at how other stories look to see how yours should.

If you want to write for this publication, please fill out the form here. However, if you write for Illumination, Illumination-Curated, The Innovation, Never Fear, An Idea, Be Unique, or Data Driven Investor, you will not be added.

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Know Yourself

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com