Photo by Jeremy Bezanger on Unsplash

Magic Keyboard for the iPad: A Writer’s Review

Is it really life-changing?

Akshay Gajria
Published in
9 min readNov 12, 2021

--

I had a firm vision in mind when I shifted to iPad Pro: my main task was writing, and I’d get an external bluetooth keyboard to write. Using the iPad like that, sitting on a stand with an external keyboard turned it into a mini iMac. I could recreate that desktop-like environment anywhere and everywhere. Yes, it took me an additional minute to bring out my keyboard, but it was worth the hassle.

My portable Mini-iMac iPad Pro Setup | Image by Author

The Keyboard Folio Case would have been a great accessory if the typing experience on it was up to the mark. As a writer, I felt the typing experience needs to be front and centre for any keyboard accessory I buy. And anyway, I was happy with my keyboard setup.

But when Apple added mouse support to the iPad and introduced the Magic Keyboard, things changed. While I added a Magic Trackpad to my setup (earlier it was a Logitech mouse, but I got annoyed by its scrolling), it became a bother to carry both a Keyboard and a Trackpad. (The Magic Trackpad 2 is so heavy!) It became paramount that I get the Magic Keyboard, but due to the multiple lockdowns, I was stuck to my desk and there was no need to make my device…

--

--