Does Reading Come Naturally to People?

Hira.K
Magical Reading
Published in
2 min readAug 4, 2024
Photo by Annelies Geneyn on Unsplash

As a bibliophile, I have held conversations with people of all kinds regarding books over the years. Upon asked about reading books, the reply that I often receive is, “Reading is not for me”, followed with a helpless exclamation. It is as if reading is not ‘meant’ for them. As if book reading is a magical power that only chosen ones are worth of possesing and the rest of the mankind is damned with the curse of remaining illiterate .

However, this is pure moonshine. Reading, just like all the other actions, is a skill. Hence, with patience and deliberate attention, it can be easily learnt, or even mastered.

In the lovely words of my mother, “No fetus brings a book, clutched tightly between his arms, from the womb”

Now when I think about the start of my own journey as a reader. It was pure coincidence. My sister happened to gift me ‘Charlie and the Chocolate Factory’ and without thinking too much I just opened it and starting reading it. There was no questioning myself whether i am qualified to be a reader or not.

The only advice that I want to giving to aspiring readers is just start reading! Or at least, give it a try. As I said before, reading doesn’t have to be a special power. Or even if it is, we all acquire it already. We just need to unleash it and use it to our own advantage. You will be amazed by its billions of benefits. Well that is a topic for another article!

Toodles for now ❤️

Liking my work? 😊 Some of my latest articles 👇

Read This If You Don’t Read Book

5 Books To Read Immediately!

The Summer I Read A Book For The First Time

About me: I am a high-school student passionate about sharing my candid take on the world. I write informative blogs on Life|Success|Teenage|books. Help me get medium membership by buying me a coffee on buy me a coffee😁 as MPP is not available in my country.

CLAP|COMMENT|FOLLOW 😊😊😊

I will meet you in my next article :⁠-⁠)

--

--

Hira.K
Magical Reading

An A-Level student 👨‍🎓passionate over blogging📄 and learning french 🇫🇷. Follow for Blogs on Productivity|Education|Teenage.