Asian Brides 2024: Facts, Costs & Statistics

Ellen Withrow
Mail Order Bride-US
19 min readMay 21, 2024
asian brides

Asian brides became incredibly popular decades ago, at a time when the mail order bride industry was very different from the modern dating market. What are modern Asian mail order brides like, what do they expect, and how a man can meet them at a reasonable cost? That’s what I’m going to discuss in this guide.

  • ❤️ Success rate: ~82
  • 💳 Average cost of mail order bride: $6,500
  • 👩 Average age of foreign brides for marriage: 22
  • 📱 Best site to find a Asian mail order wife: SakuraDate
  • 💔 Average divorce rate: ~18

Best Sites to Find Asian Brides in 2024*

There are many Asian dating sites, but not all of them can connect you with real Asian mail order brides and even just legit Asian singles. That’s why I share his top picks in the Asian segment of the online dating market.

“I’d recommend SakuraDate as the best Asian dating site overall. It’s a new yet very promising website that already has a lot of profiles of Asian mail order brides, provides some interesting and useful dating services like real gift delivery, and has multiple communication features, including audio and video messages that allow building emotional connections more easily.”

📌 Read More: Mail Order Brides: Portrait, Costs & Ways to Find a Foreign Wife in 2024

How to Find an Asian Bride: Best Way To Meet Region Brides

Asia is very diverse, but there’s at least one thing that most Asian countries have in common — all their citizens are active online users, and singles all over the continent from Japan to Thailand prefer to look for love online.

Let’s take a look at some figures that prove this. In a few years, in Japan, the number of online daters will reach 8 million, and in the last year, most Japanese newlyweds met each other online. In the Philippines, 56% of millennials meet their partners online. China, in turn, is one of the top 3 countries that lead the global dating app consumption. In other words, if you’re going to date in Asia, you should better choose a dating site.

However, it’s also important to consider some local peculiarities. Asian countries are also the countries with the highest intermarriage rates, and many local women are looking for foreign men on purpose. Contrary to popular belief, they don’t usually join Tinder to find foreign husbands but choose niche websites for Asian brides instead.

Such niche websites have many benefits for both men and women. Both “parties” get access to the right dating pool, see detailed potential matches’ profiles, and can use multiple advanced communication features to build deep emotional connections and start authentic relationships online. Choosing a good niche site is half the battle, but it’s not always that easy to win it.

“Men are looking for Asian mail order brides for centuries. Modern men are looking for Asian online brides for decades. There’s no way to literally mail order Asian brides but you can meet them on good websites. The thing is Asian dating market is huge, and it’s not so easy to find the right site, so I’ve chosen a few interesting options for you:

SakuraDate — a new website with many Asian women looking for serious relationships and good features, including audio and video messaging.

EasternHoneys — a reputable platform that works not just as an Asian dating site but also as a social networking site.

TheLuckyDate — a top niche site that works like the world’s most popular dating app but has some special features that improve user experience significantly.

Learn more about each site to find out which will work best for you, and you won’t go wrong.”

🌏 Other Popular Regions:

Latin Mail Order Brides: Portrait, Motivation, Statistics & Costs in 2024

Slavic Brides: Portrait, Costs & Ways to Find a Slavic Wife in 2024

Other Popular Ways to Find an Asian Bride

A man can’t mail order an Asian wife, but he can meet her on niche dating websites. Still, even such platforms aren’t the only place where one can find a special Asian woman, so I give and explain some alternatives, as well as their pros and cons below.

🩷 Mainstream dating apps & social media sites

On such sites, you will hardly find an Asian bride intentionally looking for a foreign husband, but the chance of meeting Asian singles is real.

Pros & cons of mainstream apps & social networking sites:

➕ Free to use

➕ Huge user bases in Asia

➖ Few Asian girls interested in a relationship with a foreigner

➖ More time-consuming, requires more effort

✈️ Trips or immigration to Asia

That’s a serious decision, even if you’re going to stay in the country just for a month or two, but it still might be a good option, especially for men who really like Asian cultures.

Pros & cons of trips or immigration to Asia:

➕ Chance to know the culture

➕ Direct communication with Asian women

➖ Too expensive

➖ No guarantee of success

👩‍❤️‍👨 Meeting Asian women in your home country

Sometimes it’s easier to search for a perfect match at home, especially if there’s a large Asian community in your city.

Pros & cons of meeting Asian girls in a home country:

➕ Free option

➕ Direct communication with Asian ladies

➖ Smaller dating pool

➖ Lower chance to meet a family-minded Asian woman

So, these were the options. Weigh the pros and cons, consider your expectations and you’ll make the right choice.

How to Get an Asian Bride

There’s no single set of rules that every man looking for Asian brides online must follow. However, there are certain recommendations that will help you succeed in the shortest time possible.

1. Choose a dating website that will suit your specific needs

“There are many sites where men can find Asian wives, but the secret is to find the best one that will meet your, not someone else’s criteria and expectations. Focus on the target audience of the platform, prices, profile quality, security, moderation, and of course, the set of features. All or at least most of them must be effective for you. I said that SakuraDate can be considered the most versatile Asian dating site at the moment, so let’s analyze further steps on the example of this platform.”

2. Learn how the system works to use the site effectively

“A site where you can meet an Asian mail order wife will definitely have a more complex system than most regular dating apps. For example, on SakuraDate, members can use the Say Hello features, send long love letters of have instant chats, send audio files, enjoy video messages, send virtual gifts or get their real gifts delivered right to their perfect match’s doorstep. You need to understand basic principles of its work and know all the costs before you start using the platform.”

3. Make your own dating profile work

“On a good site, you’ll meet Asian women. However, you need to make some effort to get them interested in your profile. An Asian lady is most likely to skip your page if it’s empty or low-effort. Most websites, including SakuraDate, allow members to complete their profile for free. Moreover, on SakuraDate you can describe yourself and your perfect match in detail, so use this opportunity to get more attention from other users.”

4. Use search features to find Asian women who meet your criteria

“There will be a lot of beautiful Asian women, but don’t try to contact them all or at least most of them. On top sites, you’ll be able to use advanced search filters and sometimes, as in the case of SakuraDate, swiping feature, too, and it’s usually free. Choose the tool you like, but look though the information on one’s profile carefully before you decide to spend your credits on communicating with this person.”

5. Communicate with Asian girls to find a girlfriend

“The best thing about such sites like SakuraDate is that they connect women who are interested in serious relationships. So, declaring your intentions when you realize you’ve met the right person is likely to be appreciated. Also, try to use more advanced features like video messaging more often after you meet a girlfriend — that helps building an emotional connection even at a distance.”

Then, when a man feels ready, he usually goes to a bride’s country, and if there’s the chemistry between them in real life, they keep dating and a man proposes to his girlfriend. That’s how things really work in the modern world of mail order brides.

📌 Read More: How to Get a Mail Order Bride: Step-By-Step Guide and Practical Tips

Asian Bride Price

Men can’t literally mail order Asain brides, and there’s no such thing as actual mail order bride cost. It’s rather a widely used term that refers to the total cost of all services that a man needs to use to meet, date, and then marry an Asian bride.

So, the “cost” of an Asian mail order bride is made up of the cost of online dating services, trips, visas, and weddings. Of course, it’s nearly impossible to say how much exactly a man will spend, but we can estimate the approximate price one may pay at every stage of his dating journey.

1. The Price of Online Dating

As we’ve noted previously, most men looking for Asian mail order wives find their perfect matches on Asian dating sites, and such niche platforms usually offer credits a member can buy to pay for different communication services. The costs vary greatly from site to site and depend largely on your personal choices, but in most cases, men spend around $1,200 a year on such websites.

“If you’re going to find an Asian mail order bride or just a single Asian woman online, you should consider the websites’ pricing policies not to spend too much. Here are the platforms that set pretty reasonable prices for this segment of the online dating market:

SakuraDate — the site where you’ll get welcome bonuses and multiple discounts, and the costs of credits start at $0.8 per credit

EasternHoneys — the site with a transparent pricing policy, 20 bonus credits, and a 7-dollar discount for newcomers

AsiaCharm — the site with a welcome bonus to have first free chats, the costs of credits start at $0.14

On all these sites, you can get a free promotion to test the service and then decide to stay and buy more credits or just leave the site without spending any real money.”

2. Trips to Asia

Travel expenses will depend on three main factors: your personal preferences, the number and frequency of trips, and prices in the country you’re going to visit. In particular, the total cost of a 2 week trip may range from $1,500 to $3,500.

3. Visas

Most Asian mail order brides apply for a K-1 visa to the US, and it costs around $1,200 on average (further application for an adjustment status after wedding isn’t included and may cost around $1,200 more)

4. Wedding

In this case, everything depends on you and your Asian order bride. You can spend just $50 on a wedding license and a few hundred dollars on a dinner for two or $20,000 and more on a ceremony and the entire celebration.

So, the total cost of getting an Asian mail order wife may range from $8,000 to $30,000+ depending on your choices and circumstances.

How to Save Money

You need a good strategy to cut the costs of meeting, dating, and marrying an Asian woman, and here are some of the key points it could be based on:

  1. Choose a cheaper country if you don’t have a specific Asian country where you’d like to find an Asian wife. If the culture where your Asian bride is from isn’t that important to you, choose countries like Vietnam, the Philippines, or Thailand rather than South Korea or Japan.
  2. Watch your credits on the dating site. There will be many attractive Asian mail order brides, but try to narrow your search to the best matches only not to spend too much on communication.
  3. Choose the right time to travel. Go to meet your Asian girlfriend when the prices for tickets and hotels are much lower, and you’ll save thousands of dollars in the long term.

Generally speaking, you should think twice and estimate the approximate costs before taking any important step — that will help you cut costs significantly and have a better experience overall.

Success Stories

“I met my future wife almost accidentally. I was very disappointed with my recent breakup, and that’s not the best story to tell and saw the ads of a dating site that promised me to help find the love of my life in Asia. I thought why not, I’m not losing anything anyway, and set up an account. Spoiler alert — that worked. I wonder what were the chances until today, but in any case, my future wife sent me a message two days after I joined the SakuraDate. I really think I’m lucky as I would probably leave the site in a week. It’s not cheap and it’s getting boring, but she found me and changed my life. She’s from Vietnam, a completely irresistible beauty, a witty girl with no previous marriages or kids. I went to meet her in less than a month and we kept dating for around 7 more months until I proposed. She’s the most gorgeous, the kindest, the most caring wife who makes me feel loved every single day, so happy I met her that day.”

“I always liked Asian women but dated mostly local American girls. I never thought of that attraction and affection seriously until I divorced and it was time to move on as my ex-wife moved on even too soon after we separated. Long story short, I tried 4 different sites, chatted with multiple bots, met a few scammers, and was ready to give up until I finally met my GF. We’re dating now, and though a long-distance relationship isn’t easy, I really think we may have a future together. She’s from the Philippines, and I’ve been there twice. A beautiful country and the beautiful kind people there impressed me a lot. I mean, a lot — literally everyone is nice. But my GF impressed me the most. I seriously didn’t know a woman could treat a man like that. We had that strong bond immediately, and she didn’t ask me for anything but my love and attention. Her family is amazing, the Philippines are amazing, so I’m really optimistic about the future.”

Cons of Finding a Bride from Asia

Though an Asian mail bride can turn out to be a man’s dream woman, it would be a mistake to think that life will become a fairy tale without any obstacles, barriers, and difficulties. It’s crucially important to consider the fact that you’re going to date someone from another culture, a culture that is nothing like yours. However, there’s a single, absolutely versatile recipe for those who want to overcome all the difficulties easily. It’s in the ability to discuss things instead of silently thinking that in your opinion, things aren’t supposed to work like that, readiness to listen, and readiness to compromise. That’s how you can turn your differences into your strengths and build even a deeper connection with your partner.

Asian Bride Interview

The best way to understand Asian mail order brides is to talk to them. I decided to search for girls who’d agree to answer my questions and met Jutha on EasternHoneys. So, here’s what we talked about.

Q: Jutha, what made you join the site as a mail order bride?

A: Well, I just think I’m ready to start a family. I was divorced, and me and my ex-husband didn’t have children. Moreover, our relationship can hardly be called healthy. I do want to have children, and I do need a man who’ll appreciate my presence in his life. I’m devoted to a relationship, I’m always ready to support and listen to my partner, and I just expect the same thing from him. I know that many guys from America and other countries are looking for a wife who’d surround them with love and care, and I think that I might be this kind of person.

Q: Do you feel that mail order bride social stigma? What do your family and friends think of your decision?

A: It’s okay to be married to someone from another country in Thailand. I’m not going to lie, not every girl here goes abroad to marry a foreigner, and it’s less mainstream than it was a few decades ago, but it’s still common. I didn’t tell my parents I’m a mail order bride or anything like that. I just told them I’m considering finding a foreign boyfriend, and they were just like okay, whatever works for you. They just want me to be happy.

Q: You say you’re a car seller and describe yourself as a career-driven person. Wouldn’t it be a problem for you to immigrate considering you’ll need to start all over again?

A: I assume I’ll keep selling cars in another country. I’m not a surgeon so I don’t have to confirm my education or something. I’ll keep working, that’s for sure, at least until I and my future husband decide to have kids. I just believe that a person must have their own ambitions and goals, but it doesn’t mean that I’m going to sacrifice my family life or something. I’m pretty good at balancing work and family.

Q: If I may ask, why didn’t you find a partner in Thailand? It seems to be a much simpler option, after all.

A: Yes, there are single guys, and I’ve been using Tinder for a while. I don’t know, that was just too much for me. I want a marriage-minded man, and I just know that will take a lot of time, patience, and effort to find my perfect match. There are a lot of men but some are looking for casual sex, and some don’t want kids as they already have them with other women. Meeting a foreign guy is just easier, and I like foreigners, so why not?

Q: What kind of a man are you looking for on the site?

A: Oh, first and foremost, this must be a guy who really puts family first and who wants to have children, not in 5 years but in the near future. I’m also looking for a man who’ll share my interests, hobbies, and views of life. I’m easy-going, friendly, and love communicating with others, and I’m pretty active so I’m looking for someone with a similar lifestyle.

Q: How do you evaluate your experience on the site right now? What kind of men do you like and who do you usually block?

A: I like the experience overall, but it’s also mixed. I met great nice guys as well as some men I would never date. It’s simple to distinguish them, actually. The first ones are polite, they show interest in my personality, ask me about my life in Thailand, we discuss our views of relationships and stuff like that. If we match, we keep talking. I think I’ve even met someone special but it’s too early to draw conclusions, but frankly, I’m full of hopes. As for the guys from the second group, well. There are two complete turn-offs. It’s dirty talk despite being complete strangers and rudeness. Some guys just think that if they pay to talk to Asian women, all girls here would kill just to marry them. It doesn’t work like that.

Q: Why do Asian Women Look for Foreign Husbands?

A: Asian brides prefer to search for foreign husbands for a variety of reasons. Sometimes, they’re social or cultural. For example, in countries like Japan or South Korea, there are a lot of men who abandon the idea of starting a family, which creates demographic problems. It largely depends on the country. Nonetheless, though social, political, and economic circumstances can be different, nearly every Asian woman one can meet on the site has her own personal reasons for looking for a foreign boyfriend. Most often, it’s a combination of negative previous relationship experiences associated with local men and a more optimistic view of foreign men.

Asian Mail Order Bride Statistics

What else a man should know about Asian brides? In fact, sometimes, figures can tell more than words, and we’ve collected some important statistics on the topic:

  • The number of women immigrating to get married varies greatly from country to country. The total number of Asian mail order brides is around 15,000, and most of them are coming from the Philippines, Vietnam, and Thailand.
  • The average age difference between Asian brides and their foreign husbands ranges from 2 to 10 years.
  • The average age of marriage in Asia varies greatly. For example, it’s 25 in the Philippines and 30 in South Korea. In Indonesia, most women get married at 19–20.
  • The same goes for the fertility rate — the average is 2.2, but figures vary from country to country.

All in all, if we take a look at the demographic situation in major Asian countries, we’ll see that the institution of the family is still strong in most Asian societies, and in most cases, Asian brides prefer to start families at a younger age. Intermarriage is also common, especially in such countries as the Philippines, Vietnam, and Thailand.

Asian Mail Order Bride Scam

Everyone who’s going to look for Asian brides online should remember that the online dating world is not the safest place. It doesn’t mean that you’ll definitely get scammed, of course. It just means that you need to know the main types of romance scams in this segment and the safety rules that will help you avoid being tricked.

Let’s start with the schemes. Currently, the most common ones are as follows:

  • ⚠️ Fake messages scams. It’s rather about scam sites than fake Asian brides. Sometimes, you join the site and start receiving a lot of messages despite having an empty profile, and you can’t even respond before you upgrade, as there is no free trial or bonus. Messages look the same and sound as if they were autogenerated. In this case, the best thing you can do is leave the site.
  • ⚠️ Data scams. In some cases, scammers try to get your information, in particular, payment data. Never share any information other users just don’t need to know about you and ensure you’re going to use a safe site using good encryption technologies.
  • ⚠️ ‘Fake brides in trouble’ scams. Last but not least, this is the most common type of Asian mail bride scam. It’s rather simple. You meet an Asian woman, things are moving fast, you think that you have found love, and then the emergency happens, and she asks you for money. It’s always a fraud, no exception.

How to avoid such scenarios? Here are some basic rules to follow:

  1. ❗ Choose the dating site carefully, paying special attention to moderation and profile quality.
  2. ❗ Check the photos using Google Image Search and read bios carefully.
  3. ❗ If you spot any weirdnesses or contradictions (weird bio, similar messages, a person forgets what they were telling you recently), report scams, or just stop responding to messages.
  4. ❗ Don’t believe any stories, we mean, any stories that end with “I need help, I need money ASAP”.
  5. ❗ Protect your personal and financial information at all costs and don’t open links sent by strangers.

This is enough to feel safe when looking for Asian women (as well as women from any other region) online.

How to Take an Asian Woman to the US?

When exploring dating Asian women online, it’s natural to wonder how to meet your partner and eventually take her to the US. It’s not that hard when it comes to IRL meetings, as you can travel to the hometown of your Asian lady, have a romantic vacation in one of the tropical countries, or fly her over to your country on a regular travel visa. But for the long-term stay of your Asian mail-order bride, you need to take care of the legal aspects.

Basically, there are 2 ways of bringing mail-order Asian brides to the US:

  • As a fiancée with a K-1 visa
  • As a mail-order Asian wife with a K-3, IR1, or CR1 visas

The most popular option is when couples plan to marry in the US. Note that you must be a citizen to bring your Asian girl for marriage into the country. To get a K-1 visa, you need:

  • File Form I-129F, Petition for Alien Fiancé(e), with the USCIS office
  • Apply for a Visa by completing Form DS-160 and preparing all the required documents
  • Pay the fees (the whole process usually costs around $2,200)
  • Wait for the K-1 visa to bring your Asian bride to the US

After getting the visa, you have 90 days to get married. And after that, your Asian wife will be able to apply to adjust the status. However, note that marriage to a US citizen is not a guarantee of getting a Green Card. But in most cases of genuine relationships, spouses get their Green Cards.

Conclusion

Single Asian women in 2023 are open to international dating, and they harness the power of mail-order bride websites to find Western men. So, if you always wanted to meet Asian women for marriage, local and international dating sites are the best way to make your dream come true. It’s cheaper than many people think, and from my experience of personal coaching, most Asian brides adapt fast and well in Western countries.

FAQ

How to find an Asian wife?

Finding an Asian wife starts with getting to know each other, usually through dating sites that connect people from different parts of the world. It’s all about making a genuine connection and understanding each other’s cultures and values. Communication is key!

How to get an Asian bride?

To “get” an Asian bride, it means engaging in international dating. Start by joining reputable dating platforms, engage in meaningful conversations, and respect their customs and lifestyle. It’s about building trust and a strong relationship, step by step.

How much are Asian brides?

Talking about “how much” can be tricky — it’s not about buying someone! But, marrying someone from another country can involve costs like travel, visas, and other legal documents. It’s important to plan and budget for these to ensure everything goes smoothly.

Which Asian country has the most beautiful woman?

Beauty is truly in the eye of the beholder! Every Asian country has its unique charm and beauty. Whether it’s the elegance of Japan, the vibrant diversity of the Philippines, or the serene grace of Thailand, beauty can be found all across Asia.

Why should you marry an Asian woman?

Marrying an Asian woman — or anyone from a different background — means embracing and learning from each other’s cultures. It’s not just about where someone is from; it’s about finding a partner who shares your values, dreams, and outlook on life. That’s what really matters!

📍 Popular Mail Order Bride Countries:

Chinese Mail Order Bride: Portrait, Motivation, Statistics & Costs in 2024

Filipino Brides: Facts, Costs & Ways to Meet Filipino Mail Order Wives In 2024

Japanese Mail Order Wives — Portrait, Motivation, Statistics & Costs in 2024

Thai Brides: Modern Thai Wives, Facts, Costs & Statistics in 2024

Brazilian Brides: Portrait, Motivation, Statistics & Costs in 2024

Mexican Brides: Truth About Modern Brides, Facts, Costs & Statistics in 2024

Polish Mail Order Brides — The Benefits of Meeting Polish Women for Marriage Online in 2024

Russian Mail Order Brides — The Benefits of Meeting Russian Women for Marriage Online in 2024

Ukrainian Brides: Portrait, Costs & Ways to Find a Ukrainian Wife in 2024

*Advertising Disclosure: This article might have sponsored content. We recommend doing your own research and making choices that are best for you. The content provided here is for informational purposes only.

--

--