Entrepreneur Preeti Jain is ecstatic that not just her, but her 8-year-old daughter Mishti is also a superstar, thanks to Meesho

Mangala Dilip
Meesho Tech
Published in
5 min readDec 16, 2020

Rajasthan-born Preeti Jain loves fashion, shaping the lives of children, being financially independent, and having an identity of her own. Most of all, she loves spending time with her adorable eight-year-old daughter. Thanks to Meesho, this Kolkata-based entrepreneur gets to do all that and more.

At Meesho, Preeti is a star, having acted in our ads and represented the company at events, and so is her daughter. This dynamic duo has had a great journey with Meesho, and Preeti is telling us all about it.

Read on to learn more about Preeti’s life as a Meesho entrepreneur:

I was born and raised in Rajasthan, but am living with my husband and eight-year-old daughter in Kolkata. Even though I have completed my B.Ed and M.Ed, working as a teacher in Kolkata was a little difficult because of the language barrier. However, after my daughter grew up a little I realised that I needed to work — I have the capability, the energy, and the drive for it.

So, I took up the job as a teacher at an English medium school in my society. My focus is to help the young children here through their formative years. Although the salary is admittedly meagre, I am able to spend a lot of time with my daughter because the school timings are not too long.

Soon I realised I had the resources to take on some online business as well, and started working with some vendors. But, the process was way too complicated and I was finding it difficult to collaborate with them. It was around this time that I saw an ad for Meesho and downloaded the app right away. This was back in 2016.

Jab I became a Meesho entrepreneur

I was immediately smitten by Meesho because and was impressed with the cash on delivery options, easy return policies, and so on. For the first few days, I did not get any orders and felt dejected, but decided to pursue it anyway. This is a life lesson I would like to share with all the Meesho entrepreneurs that I mentor as well, and I think it applied to everyone who wants to be an entrepreneur — Be patient. It might take a lot longer than you think to succeed but keep at it, especially if you have a platform like Meesho. Success will not slip by you, trust me.

I kept uploading products for over15 days without any success, but after that, I got one sale order after another, and my business started running smoothly — actually, soaring.

My husband, who has his own stationery shop, and I started making more or less equal contributions to our family expenses thanks to my business. In fact, during the lockdown, my sales were so high that even though my husband’s shop faced some decline in sales, we did not feel the pinch in our wallet. Meesho had ensured the complete safety of the products, return policies were still in place, and my customers were also placing a lot of orders.

During the lockdown, I even took part in Meesho’s #SabkiSuraksha campaign and made masks for on-ground workers and NGOs, and was rewarded as a Corona Warrior.

My daughter, my cheerleader!

One of my biggest driving forces as an entrepreneur is my daughter. I want to give her the best possible education, and life experiences. Moreover, I fancy myself a fashionista and I love to dress up — so does my daughter. Thanks to Meesho, I am able to fulfill all my wishes for myself and my daughter without asking my husband for any help.

I also have to add that my daughter is my biggest cheerleader. She encourages me to take part in various Meesho events and activities. She has also taken part in and won various online competitions that were hosted by Meesho during the lockdown period. She even has a lot of fans among Meesho employees, who requested her to be a part of a Meesho ad announcing one of our biggest price drops. I was happy to oblige!

Meesho’s growth and success can be measured by the fact that 20% of my former customers are now entrepreneurs themselves. While this means more competition for me, I am very happy with my Meesho experience, and how simple the made the whole process of online business for me. I trust Meesho blindly and am confident when I assure my customers about the products as well.

Because of my love for Meesho, I take part in all events that the company organises, one of my favourites being the Mission Rise Women Entrepreneurs Summit. They went online this year and got revamped as Mission Rise Connect this year, and I got the opportunity to host the Hindi version of it. I consider it one of my greatest accomplishments. I had an identity and felt seen and respected for my skills. Even my family members treated me like a hero!

I am very excited about my future with Meesho because it has given me a sense of identity and pride. In the years to come, I want to keep expanding my business and keep taking part in Meesho’s activities and projects, as well. My hope is that I get to grow more as an entrepreneur and that more people recognise me for my work and my talents.

Here is how Meesho helped former teacher Licha Sarma Goswami find new roots in a new city

Mitu Moni spills the secret sauce to become a successful Meesho entrepreneur

Help entrepreneurs like Preeti Jain become successful but joining the team Meesho rocketship. We are hiring. Check out all the Meesho job openings here.

--

--