Mobile Me — Part 1

Marina Karvouni
Mobile Reputations
Published in
3 min readDec 30, 2018

This semester we had the chance to work for a very interesting project during the course ‘’New Consumer Trends’’, taught by Mrs. Betty Tsakarestou. Our team did an extended research on Mobile Collaborative Consumption and Sharing Economy, a field that is on the rise. During our research we wanted to go deeper into the mobile consumption and the way, especially Millennials, use their phone for their everyday routine. The insights and the observations that arise are interesting and tell us a lot about our generation and the world around us. So keep on reading our stories in order to follow our project steps and discover our final findings.

The first step for our research was about our personal mobile daily routine. We had to pay attention to our behavior regarding the usage of our phone and then to present our observations. How often do we check our mobiles? What apps do we use regularly? For what kind of services does mobile help us? And eventually does mobile phone make our lives easier? The experiment was quiet interesting since most of the times we touch or check our phones without realizing it.

As for me, I check my mobile 24/7. This device is like the extension of my hand. I use my phone for almost everything, without caring for other devices, like the PC, unless I have to write important projects for my college.

The most used app for me is Instagram. I love scrolling down the home page in order to like and comment photos from people that I follow and from content that I’m interested about. I check this app non-stop, since it’s the first thing that I do when I wake up, the last thing before I go to sleep and in general my favorite hobby during the day. As for Facebook, I check it less regularly but still on every day bases. Most of the times, I open the app in order to see my notifications from my college pages and of course then to keep up with my friends’ activities here.

For my daily communication, the most used app is Messenger. I communicate through it almost with all of my friends. Except for Messenger, I also use Viber or Instagram where I exchange messages with my closest friends and of course I use Gmail especially for things regarding my college.

Whenever I want to relax and I have free time, I watch YouTube videos. I love watching makeup tutorials, or TV series, which I miss on television. In general I watch whatever I enjoy from my favorite channels and therefore I spent my time in my home.

For practical reasons, I use the app OASA Telematics in order to be informed about the bus schedule and be on time at the station.

My most used apps

Other apps, which I use more rarely, are Snapchat, Google maps and YouCam Makeup or Pixlr for editing photos.

Other apps in my phone

The video below explains with a more graphic way my mobile routine!

All in all, my mobile works as my personal assistant, and is identified with my interests and my lifestyle. For sure, the conclusion of that project is that the way we use our phones reflects our personality.

Read more:

Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7

For more information about our research, check our site:

http://mobiletrends18.tilda.ws/

Our team(Viral Vixens): Elena Tsakiridou, georgia flaouna, vasia tagatidi

Resources:

Jay Serafino (1 March 2018). ‘’New Guidelines Redefine Birth Years for Millennials, Gen-X, and ‘Post-Millennials’ ‘’. http://mentalfloss.com/article/533632/new-guidelines-redefine-birth-years-millennials-gen-x-and-post-millennials

James Chen (17 July 2018). ‘’Collaborative Consumption’’. https://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/collaborative-consumption.asp

Derek Miller (27 August 2018). ‘’ What Is the Sharing Economy (and How Is it Changing Industries)?’’ https://www.thebalancesmb.com/the-sharing-economy-and-how-it-changes-industries-4172234

--

--