Business Rules

The 1st stop on my fact-driven journey.

Martin Schimak ☕
Eventually Consistent

--

  1. Business Rules
  2. (Domain) Commands
  3. Aggregates and Sagas are Processes
  4. The Distributed Execution of Processes

KaBoom! The sessions, hikings, pool discussions and lunch conversations around the EventStorming Summit 2018 in Bologna, Italy resonated so much with what I think and talk about since around 2016 that I just had to sit down and start to write. And try my best to express with words and visualisations my thoughts and feelings around: “commands”! :-)

But no worries! I am not your typical command-and-control guy, but rather event-driven. But I thought by writing more about commands, I could actually also fine-tune my talk at ExploreDDD 2018 in Denver, USA. Not much time is left! But now … this develops into a whole journey. :-) As a very first stop I will start with colors and stickies and the business rules they represent.

“Why distinguish yellow and lilac sticky notes?”

In Bologna, a few people discussed: “Does it make sense to distinguish yellow and lilac sticky notes?” “Yellow and lilac …”, somebody else said, “are the underlying concepts even similar?” I think this is an interesting question to ask. It may seem awkward to ask for…

--

--

Martin Schimak ☕
Eventually Consistent

I’m #storystorming your business 🤟 Modeling #DDDesign Collaboration 🍡 Processes, Sagas in Distributed Systems 👷‍♂️ @dddvienna @reactivevienna