Unveil the Truth by Challenging Myths in Life and Culture

Look for truth, and you will find it

Nicole Akers
Publishous
3 min readMar 17, 2024

--

Photo by Wesley Faber on Pexels

In many aspects of life, we encounter narratives that are embellished or distorted over time. Whether it’s historical events, cultural traditions, or personal stories, the truth can often be obscured by layers of myth and misconception.

By uncovering these inconsistencies and bringing them to light, we not only gain a deeper understanding of the world around us but also challenge ourselves to seek truth in all aspects of life. Just as we strive to understand the true meaning of St. Patrick’s Day beyond the myths and legends, so too should we approach other aspects of life with a critical eye.

Let us also commit ourselves to unraveling the myths and legends that shape our understanding of the world. By doing so, we honor not only St. Patrick's legacy but also our own commitment to truth and authenticity.

What other things do we take at face value, but are more myth than truth?

Pub Crawl is on Tuesday

We hope that you are coming to Pub Crawl. We will be there. It’s Tuesday, March 19th. Desiree Peralta will be there on behalf of Publishous earlier in the day, and I’ll be there in the evening.

Join us! You can register here.

Enjoy some of our latest stories:

How To Start Feeling Good Again After You Have Been Insufficient for Too Long by Desiree Peralta

During my 26 years of life, I have had many ups and downs.

There have been countless times when I have felt insufficient, incomplete, or like I couldn’t continue, and I have given up so many times that I would have won a “letting go of things” competition → READ MORE

The Past is Present — and What to Do About It by Crystal Jackson

Trauma therapy changed my life. It’s a dramatic statement but an accurate one. I didn’t just intellectually and emotionally process my past. It was more than that. I learned how to regulate my nervous system. → READ MORE

6 Roadblocks Preventing Your Progress (and How to Blast Through Them) by Gaurav Dahiya

There are three types of people:

  • One who learns from others’ mistakes or advice.
  • Second are the ones who learn after making a mistake once.
  • Third, the people who take years to learn something and have made the same mistakes repeatedly. → READ MORE

Talking Doesn’t Solve Anything by Louise Foerster

They were the wild ones, kids who didn’t listen
When droning lulled curious minds into stupor.
For them, the page before them was a blank canvas
Begging for → READ MORE

The Common Effect of Being Productive All the Time by Paulo A. José

A few months ago, I was in a moment of exhaustion and frustration.

I was trying to be as productive as possible, and eventually, things stopped working. I would fall into fits of crying and nervousness. → READ MORE

Do You Mistakenly Make Moods Matter? by Elaine Hilides

I felt a bit angsty and a little anxious the other morning when I woke up.

Years ago, I would have wondered why this was; I would have hung out with the mood to try and track down why I felt like this. I would have curdled my coffee with my thoughts, and the shower would have rained tacks. → READ MORE

Sending healthy wishes,
Nicole

--

--

Nicole Akers
Publishous

Teacher | Happy Mom of 2 brings amazing tips on parenting, learning, & lifestyle | 🐶 Mom | Bestselling Author | Founder of Publishous. Keep that smile.