CRITICAL MAKING CLASS

Putting it all together

Embarking on the final 3D printed model

Yvonne Danyluck
RE: Write

--

With several weeks of tinkering, I’m eager to pull it all together. My previous posts here, here and here, look at all the little details of making my proposed art installation work.

As I model the final thing in Rhino, more questions emerge:

1 ) How do I make the 3 separate pipes regular in diameter?

2) How do I remove a pipe from the curve (before it’s baked out from GH)?

3) Why is the left-most pipe flat, like a ribbon? How can I change that?

4) And most frustratingly, why can’t I split the curve in some places? Is it that the “cutting object” doesn’t intersect?

Next steps: Cut the mesh fabric to dimension (6in. x 5in.) Test-print one section of a tube. Use water-soluble PVA for the supports. Learn how to set up dual extrusion in Cura for the Ultimaker 3.

--

--

Yvonne Danyluck
RE: Write

Trilingual, systems-navigator and hybrid identity. Performing at the fulcrum on functionality and delight to craft people-serving products. This is who I am.