Why do I find challenges challenging?

barry robinson
Read or Die!
Published in
2 min readAug 31, 2023
A man looking puzzled. Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

This article is in response to the challenges issued by Adrian CDTPPW and Karen Schwartz.

They both issued challenges, and I told them, against my better judgement, I would respond.

However, I have found this beyond my capabilities.

I would like to be able to write a response to a challenge like my friend Randy Pulley who can write an excellent post from just a small suggestion.

But as soon as I attempt to respond to a challenge, writer’s block descends on me. And it has taken me some time to realise the reason for this.

To reveal this reason, I have to go back to before the pandemic.

For several years, I was writing copy, blogs and sales letters for numerous people.

Sales letters were my favourite.

I was given a brief and had to research the product or service I was writing about.

I was also given a required word count and a fixed deadline for delivery.

So, why do I find challenges, well, challenging?

After all, I am given a choice of subjects and no fixed deadline.

It should be easy.

The problem is, when I was writing sales letters, it was my job to highlight the benefits and features of the product on sale

When writing a challenge, the product is mostly me.

And I find it difficult to find the best benefits and features of myself.

Perhaps it is the result of my sales career in printing and direct marketing. To build up a good client base, you had to sell yourself to your prospective buyers.

Perhaps I have sold too much of myself and there is very little left. 🥱

Of course, there could be another reason.

I wonder how many of are saying to yourselves.

“Why don’t you stop whingeing, get off your backside and start trying?”

If you are, I think you may have a point.🙄

Before I leave, I am going to ask Adrian a question. One of your challenges involved forgiveness.

If I ask you to forgive me for not taking part, does this count as a response to your challenge? 😃

Thanks for reading (if you are still here.)

More stories from my sometimes-addled brain.

A words damaging the climate?

Just who can you trust?

Am I a spirited Englishman or a repressed one?

I owe a Swiss village an apology.

Where have they all gone?

What is a Box Ticker?

--

--