Re Human Week 26 Conceptual Art & Reflection — Day 182

Valentin Perez
Re Human
Published in
2 min readMar 18, 2019

We are what we repeatedly do. I’m reinventing myself by improving in 15 areas at a time.

This process post is part of my Re Human project.

“Lunch Atop A Skyscraper”. A classic. NYC, 1932.

Conceptual art from today:

Super simple drawing, but it takes a while to create something good starting with a white canvas. One useful step is to look at quotes for inspiration, and as I read, allow visualizations to come to my mind. If I like one, I try to draw it. Trying to make art (even just simple drawings) makes me appreciate art more. I’m also not incredible at handwriting so I had to re-do it a couple of times. But I think simplicity is 👍.

I once read that the more simple and abstract a drawing is, the more we relate to it. Here’s why:

Our mental picture of another person is accurate.

Our mental picture of ourselves is vague.

We’re attracted to cartoons because we see ourselves.

Simple illustrations allow more people to relate.

Some Breakthrough Ideas from the Week

You never have to deal with more than one moment at a time.

Quote from somewhere I don’t remember: “Acting the way you want to feel usually works. When I feel crappy just before I have to go do something, if I decide to act as if I am happy for a while (even though I’m not) I usually end up feeling happy after not too long, or at least much less crappy.”

On logical matters, people can be wrong but on emotional matters, they are always right (or at least there’s no way for you to prove them wrong, which shouldn’t even be the objective).

This week the weather in SF was beautiful, warm, and sunny. This weekend I enjoyed skating around the city, stumbling with a friend in a coffee shop, and meeting with some friends to talk about worldviews, ideas, culture, and more.

--

--

Valentin Perez
Re Human

Co-Founder of learnmonthly.com. I love to understand to create to understand. Learning 15 skills every week. valentinperez.com