Made by Kate Granger using Midjourney

Romance | Sci-Fi | Series

Cantari #3

Chapter Three— A plot uncovered

Serial Stories
Published in
13 min readJan 27, 2023

--

The Cantari series: P | 1 | 2

I dropped from my bunk onto the steel floor below, landing painfully, hopping a few feet away, grimacing while stifling my cry. I shuffled to the service area in our quarters, desperate for synthesised coffee to motivate my body and crank start my brain. The painkillers left by the medic were standard med-kit crap, and I felt sore all over.

I tiptoed across our quarters, coffee in hand, preparing to slip out of our main bulkhead hatchway, but Lars heard me and followed.

“Where are you going, sis?”

“I can’t sleep, so I’m going exploring.”

“I’m not surprised you have insomnia after yesterday.”

“You mean the battle?”

“No, I saw you kissing Alex, for fuck’s sake.”

“It’s none of your business, little brother.”

I’d enjoyed the kiss more than I ever imagined possible. The fact she was Greg’s wife didn’t bother me, which was something I vowed to reflect on when time permitted.

I sipped the black, aromatic synth, feeling the stimulating tendrils seep into my central nervous system, recharging and invigorating me.

--

--

Kate Granger
Serial Stories

I explore where romance, love and emotions meet in a relationship explosion. 6 x Top Writer.