The working person’s trading method detailed. Part 7 The Weekday Routine and Scans.

Blake Urban
Speculate Freedom
Published in
3 min readApr 14, 2017

Be Routine Oriented

For my weekday routine I do three primary things. I look at stocks up in the pre-market session on volume, I run the Episodic Pivots scan to see the days biggest movers on abnormal volume, and I look at stocks up in after hours on volume. For the pre-market and after hours stocks I use two websites: The Stock Market Watch, and The Wall Street Journal. On both of these lists I look for stocks up at least 4% with at least 40k volume. Like in all of my scans, I look for stocks exhibiting SuperStock characteristics as well as Momentum and Trend characteristics. I check the news to see what the catalyst is, if anything.

After the market closes I run the Episodic Pivots scan in both Finviz and Telechart. Finviz gives me fundamental data, news, and StockTwits all in a clean view. I also run the Telechart scan because Finviz sometimes is missing some newer issues. Here is the Finviz scan: FINVIZ EPISODIC PIVOTS SCAN, and here is the Telechart PCF: c/c1>1.04 and v>3*avgv50.1 .

Easily Converted

These scans could easily be converted to ThinkOrSwim or any other charting package that has scanning capability. Basically, what you are looking for is stock up 4% on the day with volume three times greater than the average volume for the prior 50 trading days. You can also filter out the super low volume stocks, I use anywhere from 100k to 300k as my volume filter. In between earnings season or on slower days, I will lower the volume to get more candidates. If a stock catches my eye(rare), I will add it to my list of stocks to research further during the weekend. In rare instances a super high quality stock will get added to my watch list immediately or even bought at the next opportunity.

K.I.S.S.

Other than my scans I monitor stops on my current positions, and check charts when I get alerts. Most of the work is done on weekends, so during the week everything runs on autopilot. That is what I find powerful about the way I have developed this system. It can be done by someone working full time without burning yourself out. In the next post I will detail the weekend work routine.

Working person’s trading method series:

Part 1: Why you should trade.

Part 2: Resources

Part 3: My Trading History and Introduction.

Part 4: An overview of my process.

Part 5: The characteristics of a stock that makes my watch list.

Part 6: Money Management: Finding Buy Points, Setting Stops and Targets, Position Sizing

Part 7: The Weekday Routine and Scans

Part 8: The Weekend Routine and Scans

Disclaimer

The advice provided on this website is general advice only. It has been prepared without taking into account your objectives, financial situation or needs. Before acting on this advice you should consider the appropriateness of the advice, having regard to your own objectives, financial situation and needs. Where quoted, past performance is not indicative of future performance.

SpeculateFreedom.com disclaim all and any guarantees, undertakings and warranties, expressed or implied, and shall not be liable for any loss or damage whatsoever (including human or computer error, negligent or otherwise, or incidental or consequential loss or damage) arising out of or in connection with any use or reliance on the information or advice on this site. The user must accept sole responsibility associated with the use of the material on this site, irrespective of the purpose for which such use or results are applied. The information on this website is no substitute for financial advice.

Originally published at Speculate Freedom.

--

--