The working person’s trading method detailed. Part 8 The Weekend Routine and Scans

Blake Urban
Speculate Freedom
Published in
6 min readApr 15, 2017

The Weekend Grind

As I have stated before, I do most of my research on the weekends. There are several reasons for this, one it allows you to focus a little better as the markets are closed. You have complete data for the weekly charts as well. Primarily, I do most of my research on the weekend, because that is when I have the most time. This allows me to run on auto pilot during the week, when I am the busiest.

Primary Scans

Update 11/23/17: I primarily am running the Monthly Episodic Pivots Scan(see the resources section for the PCF), TI65, and the SwingTrade IPO scan at this point. I have found that they cast a wide enough net to catch everything I need to catch. Always look to iterate and improve as needed.

I do the same thing most weekends. I have a couple of scans I only run bi-weekly. Trend Scan and the Stage Analysis Screener are the two that I rotate. I use Google Calendar to keep track of what I need to do each weekend. Every week I run the Dave Landy Bowties Scan, Young Trends TI65, TI65, and SwingTradeBot’s IPO Screener.

These scans can be found in the Resources section, but here they are again:

  • TI65
    avgc7/avgc65>=1.05 and minv3.1>=100000
    -A Stockbee Scan. I run this every weekend. It is a momentum scan that looks for stocks whose trailing 7 day average close is 5% or more above the 65 day average close. I look for newer trends.
  • Young Trends TI65
    avgc7/avgc65>=1.05 and AVGC7.20 / AVGC65.20 <= 1.05 and minv3.1>=100000
    -I run this every weekend. It looks for stocks that recently flipped from Bearish TI65 to Bullish TI65.
  • Landry Bowtie Crossover
    (C > AVGC10 AND C10 < AVGC10.10) AND (AVGC10.10 < XAVGC20.10 AND AVGC10 > XAVGC20) AND (XAVGC20.10 < XAVGC30.10 AND XAVGC20 > XAVGC30)
    -I run this every weekend. It looks for the Dave Landry Bowties that have happened in the previous 10 days. I sort this by TI65 and go through the top 20–30.
  • Trend Scan
    abs(c>avgc70)*125
    -I run this every other weekend. It looks for stocks that have been above the 70 day moving average for the longest period of time. It is a way to measure trend strength.
  • Stage Analysis
    NextBigTrade Stage Analysis Screen
    -I run this every other weekend. I look for stocks moving into stage 2 which is the potential start of a new trend.
  • IPOs
    SwingTradeBot IPO Screener
    -I go through this every weekend. I sort by nearest to high and most recent IPOs and go through the top 10 or so.

I look for the same thing in these scans that I look for in every scan. I look for SuperStocks and Trend/Momentum stocks. I add high quality names to my watch list. Furthermore, I take my list that I compiled from the daily Episodic Pivots scan and further research these to see if they are watch list quality. I add anywhere from 0 to maybe 5 stocks max a week. I try to keep my watch list between 100–125 names. I will go through the list and pare it down as needed.

Market Internals

I also quickly go through the market indexes. I have a Daily, Weekly, and Monthly Market Trend Tab that I go through quickly to get a basic feel for the health of the markets. These are simply a set of Exponential Moving Averages that I place onto daily, weekly, and monthly charts. For the daily charts I use EMA20, and EMA50. Weekly I use EMA17 and EMA43. Monthly I use EMA6 and EMA10. I took these from a StockCharts.com user. I cannot remember the name of them, but if I do I will make sure to give credit to them. Basically if the shorter EMA is above the longer EMA the trend is bullish, otherwise it is bearish. I also have some market breadth indicators I go through. You can find these in the resources section. I may have to do a post some time about how I analyze the market internals. It is not that important, or at least I do not put a ton of value on this research. The individual stock research is much more important.

Other Scans(As of 11/23/17: I am not longer running these at all)

From there I do try to go through some Bearish Scans that are essentially the inverse of the previous scans. I try to maintain a Bearish or Short watch list. I admit I do not short much as I have not had the greatest success with it, but I do try to maintain a list as someday I plan to slowly work towards a shorting strategy. I do not always run these scans, it is based on how much time I have. I also have an ETF watch list, both Bullish and Bearish that I try to maintain as well. Again, I do not trade ETFs as much, but it is something I may pursue in the future.

Weekly Watch List/Buys/Alerts

Next, I go through my Watch List and flag the best setups and move roughly the best 15–25 setups to another Watch List called Weekly Long Stocks. Out of this list I will try to flag only the best 5 or so setups. Out of those 5, if I have capital available, I will place orders for the best 2–3 of these. The rest of the stocks on this list I will set alerts in IB at a level I would consider buying them. Then, if the alert triggers, I will check the chart and place orders as needed during the week.

Stops/Targets

I also maintain a stops/targets document in Google Docs. Since I do not use hard stops, I use this list to help me keep track of my stops. I will set alerts in IB, but I do not use actual stops in my broker. Targets I do place limit orders in my broker for. I update this on weekends, or on weekdays as needed.

So what this looks like is as follows:

  • Bi-Weekly Trend Scan/Stage Analysis Screener
  • Dave Landry Bowties
  • Young Trends TI65
  • TI65
  • Swing Trade Bot IPO Screener
  • Weekly Research List from Daily Episodic Pivots Scan
  • Market Analysis
  • Shorts/ETFs(time permitting)
  • Compile list of the best setups for the week(Weekly Long Stocks)
  • Place Orders as Needed
  • Set Alerts in IB
  • Update Stops/Targets

Finally….

That Concludes this series…

That is essentially it for my weekend routine. I am also going to call this good for the Working Person’s Trading Series. I do plan to put out some videos on my daily and weekend process flow at some point to help with setting up scans and to get a better feel for the whole process. For future posts/series I plan to post on my Penny Stock and Crytocurrency strategies. My strategies in those are very similar to this, but there are a few differences that I will get into.

Working person’s trading method series:

Part 1: Why you should trade.

Part 2: Resources

Part 3: My Trading History and Introduction.

Part 4: An overview of my process.

Part 5: The characteristics of a stock that makes my watch list.

Part 6: Money Management: Finding Buy Points, Setting Stops and Targets, Position Sizing

Part 7: The Weekday Routine and Scans

Part 8: The Weekend Routine and Scans

Disclaimer

The advice provided on this website is general advice only. It has been prepared without taking into account your objectives, financial situation or needs. Before acting on this advice you should consider the appropriateness of the advice, having regard to your own objectives, financial situation and needs. Where quoted, past performance is not indicative of future performance.

SpeculateFreedom.com disclaim all and any guarantees, undertakings and warranties, expressed or implied, and shall not be liable for any loss or damage whatsoever (including human or computer error, negligent or otherwise, or incidental or consequential loss or damage) arising out of or in connection with any use or reliance on the information or advice on this site. The user must accept sole responsibility associated with the use of the material on this site, irrespective of the purpose for which such use or results are applied. The information on this website is no substitute for financial advice.

Originally published at Speculate Freedom.

--

--