Academia, We Matter!

The Faculty
The Faculty
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readJul 2, 2020

Hi There,

Your editor, Maria Angel Ferrero, here.

A week has gone by and I feel that so many things are happening. I can feel the air of change.

Besides talking about the problems in Academia and higher education, we are taking action.

But change is a constant revolution. We can’t stop here. We are not stopping here. It is time for every and each one of us to speak and take action. Because we matter and we belong here. And hopefully, thanks to our perseverance and engagement, we will rebuild Academia and make it better for everyone.

I am sincerely grateful for all the writers who are joining the conversation and have shared with us their most personal stories, inviting us to lead the change and do better. Join the conversation here.

Here’s the best of The Faculty stories for you.

❤️ Editor’s Pick

We Belong, Regardless of What Our Impostor Voice Claims by Dr. Danielle Clark

During this time of uncertainty in higher education and in life, I am taking steps to improve my sense of worth and confidence by talking about my impostor syndrome.

It is empowering to name my fear, and it is rewarding knowing my experiences can give my peers and students a heightened sense of belonging, while reinforcing my sense of belonging too. As we step into this unfamiliar new world, I hope more of us are vigilant about recognizing impostor syndrome and managing it.

🤩 Trending Stories

A Post-Pandemic Look Into Higher Education by Maria Angel Ferrero, Ph.D.

The opinions on how the post-pandemic world will look like are diverse. But the only thing that seems to be a consensual opinion is that education as we know it has to change. But how will it change? That is the answer no one seems to want to answer.

Open access science — how open publishing is changing the face of scientific research by Helen Collins

The philosophy of open research focuses on promoting free access to science, research, data, and ideas, that have historically been hidden behind the steep and stringent price and permission barriers that block people without journal subscriptions from accessing ground-breaking scientific research.

5 Ways Teachers Can Become Parent Whisperers by Alex Gonzalez

After 7 years in the classroom, working with over 700 families, I’ve learned a thing or two about navigating conversations and building relationships with parents from all walks of life […]This powerful partnership is possible, but it takes time.

I’m not expendable by Christina Ragain, Ph.D.

Almost daily, I read articles or Facebook posts about how Covid-19 isn’t that serious because it is only killing the elderly and people with pre-existing conditions. But that is me! I have pre-existing conditions and I’m not expendable. Messages meant to lower concerns of “healthy” people make me feel as though I’m seen as expendable by my community and country.

🐣 Latest Stories

Advocating for Pandemic Safety on College Campuses by Christina Ragain, Ph.D.

How to Maximize Your Productivity by Umair Feroze

Why I Stopped Reading Books and Started Reading Articles by Romina Cornejo Escudero

How to rebel to be yourself by Umair Feroze

How to get Undergraduate Research Positions by Sarah Grech

How I Completed a Bachelor’s Degree in Two Years by Tarik Ata

To Give In Every Which Way by Anita Sud

🎉 Milestones to Celebrate

One week has passed, and it’s time we celebrate achievements!

These are small wins that make us proud;

674 followers are now reading and engaging with our stories.

488 300 are the number of minutes our readers have spent in our stories.

220 000 are the number of views our stories have reached.

6 250 new readers visit our publication each day, on average.

150 are the number of followers on our Instagram account and Twitter account.

We believe this is just the start. The start of a great community of academics with amazing stories to tell and actively working to disrupt education. Thanks for reading us and for being part of this story. Let’s continue growing together.

Keep safe,

Your Editor, Maria Angel Ferrero, Ph.D.

--

--

The Faculty
The Faculty

Editors for The Faculty. A comunity of storytellers talking about education and life at academia.