The 10 ways I got my $h%^ together in 2016

Jess Semaan
Mission.org
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2016
Photo by Pipe Yangas
  1. I went to therapy to work on childhood trauma
  2. I radically changed my diet to cope with an autoimmune disease I discovered
  3. I had very difficult conversations with friends even when I was terrified to lose them
  4. I slowed down — I allowed myself to be lazy. I left most calendar days empty
  5. I did not drink anymore (hack: saves money to go to therapy)
  6. I gave up all 90% of my worldly possessions (I did keep some books)
  7. I said no to men I was not fully into, and remained single
  8. I began facing my shadow, the dark parts of me and my shame
  9. I changed my mind so many times and allowed myself to be confused
  10. I prioritized my close friendships over meeting new people
  11. BONUS: I appreciated myself more and that’s why I write this

How did you get your S#it together this year? What do you want to thank yourself for?

If you like what you read, please give it a ❤ below

--

--