I Use Half as Much Electricity as the Average American. Join Me. (Part 1)

If every home matched my consumption, we could immediately decommission every coal power plant and each save $900 per year. See how you compare.

Matt Traverso
The New Climate.

--

Photo by Jon Moore on Unsplash

In the past year, I’ve been exploring ways to reduce our collective footprint. I’ve written about electrified cars, solar arrays, heat pumps, high-efficiency appliances, and bike riding. It turns out that there’s a much simpler and cheaper way than any of these that has an even greater impact:

Just use less electricity.

Imagine my surprise when I learned that I consume less than half as much electricity as the average American.

And as far as I can tell, I’m not doing anything special. I don’t sit in the dark cold reading books. I do not cook with a solar oven, nor did I write this on a typewriter. I have an air conditioner, a full-sized fridge, electric heat, a larger-than-average home, a plug-in vehicle, and a massive desktop computer with three huge monitors that I game on every night. So, how did I do it? And how can you?

--

--

Matt Traverso
The New Climate.

Technical writer focused on clean energy, transistors and fitness data analysis. Ph.D. Biochemist from Northwestern University and Project Manager (PMP).