Bringing Treacle the Tom Cat to Life

Eliza Fury
Women in Technology
3 min readJul 13, 2023

In my previous articles, I’ve shared my passion for coding and my fondness for Tamagotchis. However, another aspect of my life remains hidden unless you know me personally — I am currently fostering an adorable tom cat named Treacle. Inspired by my friend’s love for Treacle, I embarked on my new project for the 100 Days of Code challenge to code an interactive representation of Treacle into my web browser.

Screenshot of my virtual pet project.

HTML Drawing: To start the project, I explored various resources, including a YouTube tutorial on drawing in HTML. This tutorial helped me recreate a digital version of a cat, which I then customised to resemble Treacle, my lovable feline companion. While adding features, I’ve made significant progress, as shown in the example above.

JS Magic: To enhance the interactivity of Treacle’s virtual presence, I dived into JavaScript. After researching how to implement a basic progress bar, I created a button that, when pressed, fills up the entire bar. However, I plan to introduce changes that will gradually decrease the progress bar, encouraging users to engage with the buttons to satisfy Treacle.

Screenshot of my virtual pet project.

Future Features: Moving forward, I have exciting plans for this project. I aim to construct a visually appealing virtual cat pen as Treacle’s digital home. Drawing from Treacle’s playful nature and vibrant personality, I want to create an environment that exudes joy and warmth, genuinely bringing this charming feline to life in the digital realm.

I intend to extend the interactive elements by incorporating the appearance of a bowl when the “Food” button is pressed, simulating the act of feeding Treacle. By doing so, I hope to enhance the user experience and evoke the same delight Treacle brings to my friends and my life.

While this project is still a work in progress, I’m excited to share my enthusiasm for my journey. There’s something incredibly fulfilling about translating a real-life experience into a fun coding project. The opportunity to bring Treacle, my beloved foster cat, to life in a virtual realm has been genuinely thrilling.

Photo by Reba Spike on Unsplash

Even though more work is needed, I find joy in every step of this project. Recreating Treacle’s essence digitally and exploring various coding techniques has been delightful. I’m grateful for the chance to merge my passion for coding with my love for this charming tomcat.

As I continue my 100 Days of Code challenge and further develop this project, I look forward to refining the interactive elements and creating a captivating virtual environment for Treacle.

While there’s still more to come, I hope that sharing my journey of bringing Treacle the Tom Cat to life in the browser gets a smile on the faces of fellow cat enthusiasts and coding enthusiasts alike.

--

--