Thank you for telling me no. — 14 of 31

Or “UUUUGHHHHH MOOOOOOM Oh wait, you were right.”

Kyle Murray
2 min readMay 14, 2017

I’m a patron of Ninja Writers and this is day fourteen of the May Medium Post-a-Day Challenge of blogging for 30 consecutive days.

One. Two. Three. Four. Five. Six. Seven. Eight. Nine. Ten. Eleven. Twelve. Thirteen.

Thank you for telling me I couldn’t drink soda unless it was a Friday.

Thank you for not letting me play video games all day like I wanted to and instead got me outside on my bike and signed me up for sports.

Thank you for not shying away from volunteering at our school and getting involved.

Thank you for not letting me go break bottles at the end of Windstream Way with the rough crowd of boys from the neighborhood.

Thank you for not letting me leave the house until my chores were done.

Thank you for getting on my case about putting dishes away to the point where, even today, hearing the word INTO reminds me of what you used to shout when we left dirty dishes on the counter.

Thank you for not letting slip in 6th grade when I had a hard time adjusting the first half of the year (and got Most Improvement at the Assembly at the end of the year).

Thank you for making me apologize when I said stupid things during sports to opponents and not letting me get away with it.

Thank you for not listening to me when I said I didn’t want to go back to high school after a rough first week.

Thank you for not giving up on me when I constantly switched majors, careers, life goals.

Thank you for not giving me help when I was struggling and letting me figure out things on my own.

For all the times you told me ‘No’ because you knew it would ultimately make me a better person. Thank you, Mom. I love you.

Happy Mother’s Day.

Connect with me on LinkedIn even though what trends there makes zero sense to me, so feel free to connect on Twitter.

--

--

Kyle Murray

Tar Heel. OCR Athlete. Writer. Content Manager. My mission is to make lives better and live well.