Photo found on Unsplash.com

Goal Setting for ACTUAL Success

Alida McDaniel
4 min readSep 14, 2016

--

How many times have you set a goal and given up before you reached it? A million and one times, right?

Perhaps life got in the way or you started feeling the crunch and convinced yourself that it was a sign you should not go in that direction…whatever the reason…you gave up.

Look, I’m speaking from experience here, there’s nothing and no one outside of you who can inspire you enough to take action if you have a deeply rooted internal streak of self-sabotage. You have to WANT it so bad that nothing, no one..including yourself…can stand in the way. No fear, doubt or lack of self-worth can penetrate a self-driven person who’s FULLY committed to succeed.

So what gives?

As a life coach, I find countless clients struggle with one thing: belief. It’s a belief keeping you from reaching the goal. The following is a list of the most common beliefs I hear-

1- I don’t have enough time

2- I don’t have enough money

3- I have too much on my plate

4-I’ve tried this before and failed

5- I don’t have the right support

6- I don’t have the right resources

7- I don’t want to be extreme

8- I don’t want to have to give up (…this…)

9- I want to work less and make more

10- My boss/spouse/luck is holding me back

That’s only a fraction of what I’ve heard, and what I have used in my past, as an excuse to play all-in. Honestly, it’s all crap.

Goal settings requires one thing people don’t want to do: COMMIT.

The daily habit

Every day I write out my goals. It helps me to tune in to my desired outcome and create my game plan to work in that direction rather than doing things just to do them. BUT I’ve also learned that the time of day I do this makes a massive impact. Here’s why…

When I wake up, my mind is cluttered with visuals from crazy dreams, thoughts that have become dislodged through the night, and my body’s desire to stay warm and cozy in bed. I know you know this feeling too! :P

If I get out of bed without decluttering, my brain will function in ONE way- to prove my frame of thought. The more bitter I am about leaving the cozy bed, the more fearful I am that my business will fail, the more judgmental I am everything I didn’t get done yesterday, the more crappy my efforts will be as I step out of bed and into the shower.

Mind projects programming, not truth

Your brain is like a super-computer. It runs programs (beliefs) and your ability to respond, react, and create are all limited to the parameters of those programs. They act as a filter, sifting out potential opportunities that don’t support the programs and let in only things that validate them.

What you experience in your outer reality is therefore a reflection of the programming you run unconsciously. The more you buy into this programming as “truth” the more you develop an identity around it and defend it wholeheartedly. It’s not truth, it’s a reality you have created based on your experiences and is limited by your fear, doubt, and judgements of what’s possible.

Goals are meant to change you

One thing I’ve learned by writing out my goals each day is the ability to calibrate my actions more each day. It forces me to CHANGE my approach to the goal itself, shift how I show up for life, and become more of what my goal needs rather than living just to validate my beliefs.

Where most people avoid setting big goals in fear they will have to change, the same people who also complain of being bored, overworked, undervalued, and misunderstood. In reality, their fear of change is being masked with excuses, aka all the reason why they cannot succeed or excel beyond their current state of suffering. It’s easier in their minds to blame the system, luck, privilege, etc. for their failure than to admit they are unconsciously avoiding success and choosing to give up before they start.

Victim minds leave no room for growth.

As Grant Cardone says, “The more actions you take, the better your chances are of getting ‘lucky.’”

If you really want to succeed, stop making excuses and start calibrating your actions to match that goal. Write out your goals each morning and sift out teh daily habits you have that waste time and hold you back. BE the person who WOULD reach that goal and be willing to get yourself, your beliefs, and your procrastination out of the way.

--

--

Alida McDaniel

Purveyor of quantum-level life hacks. Disciple of the great life. Transformational Life Coach. Designer of Eco-luxury fashion. Neuro-hacker.