The 168

Martijn Keesmaat
2 min readSep 25, 2019

--

Each week has 168 hours. I have the ability to choose to make the most out of these hours. However, I often regret how I spend my time.

Balance is my Achilles heel. I tend to do too much for too long, get tired from then and then too little.

Why is finding the balance between doing the things I find important and doing the things I enjoy seem so difficult at times?

How can I give more to those things I value and get rid of those I don’t?

Outline

  1. Addictions in The Modern World
  2. Excellence, Then, is Not an Act But a Habit
  3. Training the Mind
  4. A Work Environment For Work

Addictions in The Modern World

As Simon Sinek said: “We are a legacy machine working in a very different environment than we were designed for.” There are many things that distract us from the things we really care about. Attention and time have become the new gold in the modern world.

Chapters

Excellence, then, is not an act but a habit

Imagine a plane taking off from Los Angeles en route to New York. If during takeoff, the pilot decided to adjust course 3.5 degrees to the south, the plane’s nose would move just a few feet. Outside of the cockpit, no one on board would notice the small movement. But over the course of a journey across the country, the impact of the change would be considerable, and the confused passengers would alight from their plane in Washington, DC, not New York.

In this section, I will explore the vast world of habits. The minor daily acts that have major impact. What are those minor acts for me? How do pursue the ones I hold value for me and let go of those who don’t?

Chapters

Training the Mind

In this section, I will explore practices to train the mind.

A Work Environment For Work

How to remove the unwanted distractions and gain insight into how I spend my time to see where I can improve.

Chapters

A Blessed Death

Da Vinci had faithfully followed his own guidance to the very end and, having completed his course, now it was time to die. Perhaps his own words, written years before in his notebook, would have come back to him in such a moment:

“Just as a wellfilled day brings blessed sleep, so a well-employed life brings a blessed death.”

--

--

Martijn Keesmaat

Developing my world view every day. It is about finding your morals and philosophy as an individual. Everybody has their perspective. Here is mine.