Day 29: My Girl

T.A. Ozbolt
4 min readSep 6, 2017

--

In Day 27, you heard a little bit about our baby. Today, I want to tell you about my girl.

For the last 29 days, I’ve been more busy than I have been in years trying to accomplish the goals of this 30 Days project, while juggling the responsibilities of running a business and my most important job as a husband.

One person has caught the brunt of that, of my odd hours and random naps, and spontaneous 100 pushups, squats, and situps. That’s my girl.

Through it all, despite the fact that she’s in the midst of her first third trimester, she’s been nothing but supportive. My biggest fan.

The one who reads my posts every day and is the first to tell me that I did a good job, especially on what always seem to be those days and times where I feel like no one is reading, or that this is just an exercise in vanity: That’s my lady.

In these last 4 plus weeks, I’ve had the goal of becoming a better man, and I think that I’ve made some steps in that direction. But in taking those steps, I’ve had to switch things up from my normal routine, and that’s necessarily meant that I have less time for everything, including the people around me, in particular, the most important person around me: my wife.

This hasn’t been just a 30 Day project for me, it’s been a whole new 30 Days for her. And she’s been a champ — just as successful as I’ve been. So if you see her, especially if it’s in the next few days while she’s still lugging around that lil future hellraiser in that cute little belly of hers, tell her “Great job” and give her a big hug. We don’t really accomplish anything important in this world on our own, I never was able to do anything like this while I was a lone wolf. But with the support of the lady who loves me, I’ve had the support and love that I needed to make it through.

As of the moment that you clicked on this link, I have completed my 30 Days of Discipline. I’ve been writing these daily stories the next day; for example, today is my 30th day and I’m writing about Day 29. Tomorrow I’ll give you the full recap and breakdown, but for today, I gotta close this out, with one of the best tributes I know, for the best and most beautiful woman I know…

A good woman is hard to find, and worth far more than diamonds.

Her husband trusts her without reserve, and never has reason to regret it.

Never spiteful she treats him generously all her life long.

She shops around for the best yarns and cottons, and enjoys knitting and sewing.

She’s like a trading ship that sails to faraway places and brings back exotic surprises.

She’s up before dawn, preparing breakfast for her family and organizing her day.

She looks over a field and buys it, then with money she’s put aside, plants a garden.

First thing in the morning, she dresses for work, rolls up her sleeves, eager to get started.

She senses the worth of her work, is in no hurry to call it quits for the day.

She’s skilled in the crafts of home and hearth, diligent in homemaking.

She’s quick to assist anyone in need, reaches out to help the poor.

She doesn’t worry about her family when it snows; their winter clothes are all mended and ready to wear.

She makes her own clothing, and dresses in colorful linens and silks. Her husband is greatly respected when he deliberates with the city fathers.

She designs gowns and sells them, brings the sweaters she knits to the dress shops. Her clothes are well-made and elegant, and she always faces tomorrow with a smile.

When she speaks she has something worthwhile to say, and she always says it kindly.

She keeps an eye on everyone in her household, and keeps them all busy and productive.

Her children respect and bless her; her husband joins in with words of praise: “Many women have done wonderful things, but you’ve outclassed them all!”

Charm can mislead and beauty soon fades. The women to be admired and praised is the woman who lives in the fear of God. Give her everything she deserves! Festoon her life with praises! ~Proverbs 31

Thank you, Kelly Ann.

___________________________________________________________________

Links to Past Episodes/Resources:

Introduction Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5 Day 6 Day 7 Day 8 Day 9 Day 10

Day 11 Day 12 Day 13 Day 14 Day 15 Day 16 Day 17 Day 18 Day 19 Day 20

Day 21 Day 22 Day 23 Day 24 Day 25 Day 26 Day 27 Day 28

Manfield’s Book of Manly Men: An Utterly Invigorating Guide to Being Your Most Masculine Self

If you have any feedback, please send me a message or leave it on my Facebook page: Thirty Days. This is a new project and I’d love to hear your thoughts. It is a tremendous encouragement to know that someone is reading this. Encouragement, comments AND criticism are welcome.

--

--