About Me — Ashwini Rao Holla

Ashwini Rao Holla
About Me Stories
Published in
3 min readJun 8, 2021
I carry my crossbag and smile wherever I go :)

In my early teens, my Papaji (dad) once asked me, “What’s your dream job?” and my reply was something like this- “I want to have multiple jobs, early mornings maybe a teacher, afternoons doing voluntary work and learning new things followed by doing something related to dancing just before closing in for the night! How cool will it be to have a jam-packed schedule doing things I love, isn’t it?” Papaji trying to avoid showing his bemusement, asked me calmly if I thought it was practical.

Some years went by, I got serious about my career and just like most Indian kids, was suggested options of becoming an engineer or a doctor. Since I’m not one to enjoy bloodshed (or memorize those biology terms), the former option got chosen. While pursuing my engineering, I realized that organizing extra-curricular activities was more suited for me than something technical.

What’s life without some drama?

Soon after graduation, instead of taking up the job offer from a high paying IT company, I decided to sit for the Common Admission Test (CAT) to enter top B-schools. It was a giant leap of faith to take up studying from a scratch when the exam is 3 months away (generally prep takes more than a year) with a year to lose if my attempt fails. Thanks to the guidance of my mentor Prabdeep and family’s support, I not only managed getting 98.9 percentile in CAT but also entered my dream campus viz. IIT Bombay. Fortunate to be one of the 8 freshers (also one of 12 women) in the batch of 120, my biggest takeaway-

Sometimes it’s important to follow one’s gut feeling and action on it. That way you’d not have regrets even if you fail because you know that you atleast tried your best!

During one of the street plays as a volunteer

Here are some of my major life events in fast forward mode-

· Bachelors in Electronics and Communication Engineering

· MBA

· Dream job in a reputed FMCG Company through pre-placement offer

· Meeting my soul mate and getting married within 6 months of courtship

· Relocating to a new city and taking a sabbatical (despite financial liabilities)

· Entering Retail industry in a new role

· Motherhood after 5 years of marriage

· Student of Masters in Psychology

· Started journey as a writer in Medium

Yes, you read it all in chronological order. As crazy as it sounds,

I’m a working Supply Chain professional, mother to a soon-to-be toddler, continuous learner, volunteer and currently, managing household chores with writing as a cherry on top!

How do I keep myself sane? Listening to music, dancing randomly (even while washing utensils), reading and writing! I write mostly on self-love, relationships and mental health. There’s no niche yet I suppose because right now I’m just going with the flow and writing on things that matter the most to me. Looking forward to improve my learning curve through more discipline and hope my work resonates with you at the level of joy it brings to me.

Overall, I’m a nature lover and strong believer of destiny. Just keep giving my best in everything that I do with a clear conscience, leaving the rest to fate. Life is worthwhile by spreading love and joy, making it a better place for ourselves and ones around us :)

As Master Oogway says, “There are no accidents”.

It’s always great to meet new people. Afterall, each one of us is unique in our own ways. You’d get in touch with me through LinkedIn, Instagram or through email : Ashwini.rao.holla@gmail.com

Keep smiling always ❤

--

--

Ashwini Rao Holla
About Me Stories

Continuous learner and a new mom who strongly believes in the power of relationships, positivity and smiles. Love reading, dancing, volunteering and writing. :)