Being A Patient Myself

Perspective Matters

Aman Daniel
About Me Stories
2 min readJun 10, 2024

--

Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Exactly one month back I found myself injured in the ankle area of my foot. It happens because I jumped from one field to another for the sake of saving runs while playing cricket.

Most people asked why you jumped, it is just a game and you have injured yourself because of this. But my answer is and will always be – it’s not about what I am playing, it is about my passion for that particular thing I do.

Hence I never regret the injuries that happen.

Photo by Jackson Simmer on Unsplash

Let’s get back to the story. Soon my ankle started to swell up like no before. In those absolute pains, I was only thankful for one thing: there was no fracture.

I knew it because… A brother of mine who is male nurse told me this good news. The extreme stretch of ligaments has caused swelling and pain.

So after realizing that, it is a mass rupture. Which takes more time to recover than a fracture. I knew that it was going to be a long rest from outdoors.

I rested for a day and immediately went to the hospital the next morning. They took my foot, and a plaster was attached. And a 3 weeks bed rest was needed – doctor said.

It was my first experience of having an insane injury. You can think how badly I got injured as I still can not walk properly even after one month.

Never Been A Patient Before

Never thought before that I will use a stick to walk. How unpredictable life is. But this very thought starts to change when I notice something even real.

It was not just me who failed to predict the future, as a result there were also tons of people.

And before I had never seen the life of a patient before.

Most of the time, we see for ourselves.

The daily dose of life we live as normal beings, is not normal for those who are in hospitals. And the chaos we see in their disability and disease is usual for them.

Now I am understanding – what is life?

Thanks for reading.

I hope you like it. :)

--

--

Aman Daniel
About Me Stories

I can provide you value through my writings. "I want you to walk away with some Value". Visit My Website – www.amandaniel.in