The Normal way to be UX Designer: fake Project, volunteer project, full-time job

vitaaddelia
Bootcamp
Published in
4 min readMar 16, 2023

Here’s my story to land of my first full-time job as a UX Designer and what the lesson I got from this journey.

Photo by Alvaro Reyes on Unsplash

I wasn’t a design or psychological student, nor in another field related to UX Design. I was a Chemistry student that in love with design, art, and human behavior. It took me 2 years to understand and fully pay attention to what UX/UI Design is. Even now, I still maybe got 18% or less of the knowledge because UX Design knowledge is huge, and there are still so many things that I should learn.

Prelude

I began this journey with take a course about UI/UX Designer and Researcher in Local Bootcamp program in my country (It’s free because the government paid for it for me, thanks God for it). It took me 6 months to finish it, and here’s what I got:

  • Theory base: which is fundamental, you can get it free on the internet actually, but you should structure it by yourself. I made the roadmap below and I hope it can help you to structure your learning
Image design by vitaaddelia-Author
  • Fake Project: as a newbie, I wasn’t know how to build my first portfolio, but the bootcamp help me to make it step by step clear.
  • Connection: of course, a new environment brings you to a new circle, and this great opportunity to brand yourself and show the world who you are.

After I finish my bootcamp, I take another course to sharpen my design skill. I took adobe professional certification. In this course, I got fundamental design such as:

Layout

Typography

Color Theory

Composition

Contrast

White Space

Grids

New Era

Real Project (unpaid/volunteer)

Financially is not a great thing in this case, but as a learner, I got so many things and have so much beneficial for me, here’s what I got:

  • Portfolio Pieces: I have the opportunity to work on real-world projects that I can add to your portfolio. These portfolio pieces can help demonstrate my skills and experience to potential employers.
  • Networking: this one can help me build relationships with other professionals in the industry. I also have the opportunity to connect with potential employers, mentors, or collaborators.
  • Experience with Design Tools: I have work with design tools and workflows as professional, and it’s really sharp my skills.
  • Collaboration: I worked with a team of volunteers that help me develop my collaboration and communication skills. I also have the opportunity to learn from others and share my own expertise.
  • Problem-Solving Skills: I have the opportunity to work on real-world problems and develop my problem-solving skills. This can help me become a more effective designer and problem solver in my career.
  • UX Research Skills: This one depending on the project actually, I have the opportunity to conduct user research and gather feedback on my designs. This can help me develop my UX research skills, which are important for any UX designer.

Real War

After 6 months did volunteer, I move to the next step, yeah get the full-time job. Actually, I didn’t apply for this job, but their staff offered me this chance thru LinkedIn, and of course, I take it after some company research things. So, now I am a UX Designer working for a local B2B healthcare startup.

For those who are still struggling or new in the field of UX design or any other field, please keep learning. I have recommendation flow to track your progress while learning click here or read this article for better understanding click here.

Anyways, I always share my learning progress on my Medium and other social media.

I am very open to learning together and discussing topics related to design, art, human behavior, or any other field. Let’s be friends and grow together.

Insight for today:

Keep learning!

Surfing the internet and just keep learning!

Thank you so much, if you have something to share in the comment section, I would really happy to know it. Have a nice day!

--

--