Hand Puppets and Anime šŸ¤©

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readMay 2, 2021
Card Captor Sakura (left), Lamb Chopā€™s Play-Along (right)

Hey folks,

For the month of May, Iā€™m really trying to work on achieving better balance. Not perfect balance. Just something more sustainable. April wound up being way too hellish and I didnā€™t give myself enough breaks from work.

I also regressed on much of the progress Iā€™d been making with healthy routines. Especially those that benefit my ADHD.

At any rate, a brand new month and weekend seemed like a good opportunity to spend more time with my daughter. So, thatā€™s what I tried to do. I had her help me with chores like laundry, and we spent some good time outdoors. Today (after completing a few chores), we wound up watching some throwback television from my day that she happens to love: Lamb Chopā€™s Play-Along and Card Captor Sakura. You might want to give them a try at your house šŸ˜€

Iā€™ll admit I have been writing today, but not as productive as Iā€™d normally like since Iā€™m trying to take more breaks and all of that. At the moment, my daughter is trying to draw a character from Card Captor Sakura as I swype out this newsletter.

The one downside of trying to be more balanced is that thereā€™s just so much happening lately in the world that I want to write about. Abuse among evangelicalism is a huge topic for me and lately all of that has really exploded.

My apologies if some of these topics arenā€™t your cup of teaā€¦ as a writer, I find myself drawn to writing about the stories and happenings that really tug at me in the moment.

My mission is to tackle difficult topics with honesty, humanity, and a bit of (dry) humor.

I believe in talking about difficult issues instead of sweeping them under the rug because I know how much abuse thrives in secrecy.

If my mission happens to resonate with you, and youā€™d like to support my work and plans to publish a few books with all new material, I invite you to follow and support me on Ko-fi. Itā€™s a work in progress, but Iā€™m excited about building it out into something beautiful šŸ˜

Have a great week!

--

--

Shannon Ashley
Honestly Yours

It's not about being flawless, it's about being honest. Calling out vipers since 2018 šŸµ https://ko-fi.com/shannonashley šŸ“§ truthurts.substack.com