The Shovan Chronicles — Part 7

Moshe Forman
Lit Up
Published in
17 min readOct 25, 2018

--

Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6

“You have news of Wendy’s father?” asked Quench.

Kirnow stroked his chin and thought. “Piple have been sighted.”

“Where is he, what have you done with him?” Wendy was frantic.

“I have just heard things. First, you will help me, and then I will help you find him.”

“You must tell me more.”

“Cooperate with me. You will never find him alone.”

“How can we believe you,” said Quench. “This could be just a trick to get Wendy to do what you ask.”

“The reports are well-founded. The discovery of a group of Piple has caused much consternation.”

“What do you want me to do?” asked Wendy.

“You will be taken to a secret location. You will read some manuscripts to the scribes.”

Menna arrived, a basket under her arm. “What’s going on?”

“Kirnow wants to take us away,” said Quench.

She looked at Kirnow. “Why?”

“Because they have vital tasks to fulfil,” he snapped.

“Your impatience makes no impression on me.” Menna’s voice remained calm. “A few moments more will be of no consequence.”

--

--

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

When I’m not a poet or novelist, I'm exploring Self, Food, Society and History. And when I'm not doing that, I'm a technical writer. www.mosheforman.com