Oh needle,
bite into my flesh,
I have felt it before,
maybe not as repetitively,
but life’s sting feels the same.

The Lingering Sting

Vince Fulco (It / It's)
In Your Own Words
Published in
2 min readMay 26, 2015

--

Oh needle,
bite into my flesh,
I have felt it before,
maybe not as repetitively,
but life’s sting feels the same.

Penetrate so I know I am alive,
not so deeply to hit bone,
but leave your mark,
so I may never forget,
pain and pleasure are cousins.

Strike again and again,
tell me what she braved,
even if in a small way,
what could not be shared,
I stumbled upon on my own.

Your pierce draws blood,
if only for an instant,
and the body adapts as it always does,
to prick upon prick.

Come, come endorphins,
taking longer than you should,
isn’t this how life is,
never getting what we want,
right away,
or for very long.

What am I left with,
vivid colors, soft shapes,
subtle gradients to admire,
while reminiscing collected moments,
I thought I couldn’t endure.

If you like what you just read, please ‘Recommend’ it below and ‘Share’ it with others by any social media you favor. Thank you.

Image by Horitomo’s Work.

PRIOR POSTS

--

--