EROTICA / NOVELLA

The Lake: An Introduction

A summary, links, and a few reasons why you should — or shouldn’t — read it.

Kaia Bell
Erotica

--

The girth of the paperback in this image is incorrect.

To read the novella, scroll to the bottom for the links.

Sometime last summer, I wrote a short story for an anthology of erotica. The theme was ‘summer heat’ and I was in a mood for that feeling of too much (the same mood I was in when I wrote this story) so I wrote about a woman having sex with two men. When the anthology was published, a few people asked if I’d planned to write more, and while I hadn’t, I did. I turned that story into a short novella called The Lake. It’s available at various book retailers, but I’ve decided to publish it here, too.

This story is utterly filthy and over-the-top.

It’s about a recently divorced woman who moves from the city to rural upstate New York and accepts an invitation to go skinny-dipping at a local lake. That swim turns to sex with two men and then… it really gets going.

There is dirty talk. There is a lot of sex, all of it unprotected, so this is a “don’t do this at home” kind of story. Or a “do this at home but with condoms” kind. There is some size kink. A touch of roughness. A lot of penetration. A LOT of penetration. And there’s a resolution. Or so I thought.

One of the reviews for this book said: I’m into this quartet….give me more. PLEASE!!! Do they all move in together? Kids? Do they all get a matching tat? I want more!

Another review said: Holy s**t! This was HOT!!!! Claire meets three guys and they start something very hot! This story is way too short, it left me wishing for at least 5 epilogues!

So, naturally, because I’m a writer, my takeaway from these reviews is: THIS STORY IS TOO SHORT. IT SHOULD HAVE BEEN LONGER. But some people find it hot, and maybe you’ll find it hot, and honestly, any perceived hotness is truly the greatest compliment of all.

And maybe this story is too short. I don’t know. Maybe I should write more. If I do, I will probably give them matching tats.

Here it is. A novella called The Lake. And in case you skimmed the part above, I’m going to repeat my forewarning that this gets filthy:

Part 1: Swimming Naked Invariably Leads to Unprotected Sex With Two Men

Part 2: And Now There’s a Third

Part 3: You Want More? Good Girl.

Epilogue: Hard Sex Deserves a Happy Ending

(If you want to start now return to it later, you can also find the parts organized together here or by clicking ‘The Lake’ in the navigation.)

I’ve written a few stories in this vein, probably because I think there’s something truly transcendent in being sexually outnumbered, so if you’re looking for related stories, there are these:

You can find more stories here and on my website kaiabell.com. I’m also on Twitter. Thanks for reading!

--

--

Kaia Bell
Erotica

Sex, history, and erotica with a touch of deeply felt kink. Site: kaiabell.com