Newsletter #19: Poetry and Prose on Mental Health and Relationships

A writing prompt on how deepening the relationship with the self improves relationships with others.

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest
4 min readNov 2, 2022

--

“Relationships with others are only as healthy and satisfying as our own personal relationship with the self.”

-Put It To Rest

Writing Prompt:

For the month of November, Put It To Rest wants to know how you develop your relationship with yourself to deepen your relationship with others.

Please include the Writing Prompt title “connect to the self to connect more with others” in the header, title, or subtitle.

Put It To Rest is proud to share highlights of poetry and essays that made a lasting impression. As a mental health publication that believes creative expression is healing and empowering, we’ve had recent submissions that provide insight into relationships, addiction, mental health, and identity.

Our writers are passionate when courageously and unapologetically sharing personal stories of wins and losses. From battles with addiction to facing inner demons, our writers have contributed to our community of writers, striving to use art as a means of self-empowerment.

Poetry

Melissa Steussy My Most Read Article Is About Sex at 12

Why I’d felt like my body had no autonomy
Why I thought If I just stayed
Quiet it would be over soon

Daniel Fincher A More Decent Place

Each dawn brings a day.
Hearts beating, not blood,
but poisonous rain
from our clouds of mistakes.

Jennifer L. Stafford The YouPrint

We save ourselves when we save the trees.
We are a part of something that supplies our needs.
Naturally,
no need for greed.

Chris Patton Seeing Into The Darkness

The whooshing sounds droning in my ears,
As my heart rages inside my chest,
The caged beast, trying to escape.

Richard Steele Out of the Rubble

it’s time to stop complaining
and mourning the past
what is now pertaining
is optimistically forecast

Lindsay Soberano-Wilson Drop It

But now I know
what I’m meant to do
— drop it
drop the weight of your words
even though
I never ever got an apology.

Personal Essays

Neha Sonney, Author What’s Beneath Your Anger

Anger is not something to be expressed or suppressed. You will notice a huge difference in the way you communicate and the way you manage your emotion of anger when you start to explain your anger. Explaining the emotion to yourself is important so that you know how to explain it when speaking to loved ones.

Charlie Cole I Want To Be Socially Prescribed

I’ve landed on believing the cultivation of community is at the heart of many ills. Create a way for someone to discover or regain that aspect of their lives and it may just be the trick toward a healthier, more loving, and better-fulfilled society.

Lindsay Soberano-Wilson Breaking Up With Mary Jane Is Hard To Do

Like when I was in denial about the addictions I saw around me while growing up around friends and family. Like when I told myself about the people in my life who didn’t drink that often so they couldn’t be an alcoholic. Only when they drank — they never had just one.

Leif Gregersen How To Avoid The Harsh Realities of Schizophrenia and Bipolar Disorder

In fact, it is likely keeping me on medications and mentally well just having a good routine in my life and a bit of a challenge to engage in the activities I feel validated in.

Open for Submissions

Put It To Rest celebrate the light after the rain and inspires writers to explore their voices to tell their stories and finally “put them to rest.”

So if your writing is raw and vulnerable and you’re ready to put it to rest, then consider joining our growing community of poets, essayists, and short story writers.

Put It To Rest accepts personal essays, poetry, and short stories about life experiences that have weighed on your mental health and that you wish to explore through writing as a therapeutic endeavor.

House your work here to Put It To Rest where you can grow as a writer and eventually be featured on Our Writers page.

I am happy to be an editor and help others grow their audience and improve their writing. I want to also help those who consider themselves new to writing to tell their story and reap the benefits of this exercise.

I want to help you to tell your story.

But please follow the submission guidelines so we can do so together!

Support the Put It To Rest writing community by following us across all social media platforms, including Medium, Twitter and Instagram.

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
Put It To Rest

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson