The Election is Over, Now What!

Make the best of those ‘broken eggs.’

Patricia Davis
Simply Living and Living Simply
2 min readNov 16, 2020

--

Logo by author

Whew! It’s the middle of November and the half-way mark for NaNoWriMo has come and gone. If you are writing your novel this month, I hope things are going well for you. This is the first year for me to participate, so I set my goals low and had to add another one. I’m halfway through both.

So far this month, we have had an election that turned out to be a nail-biter. I don’t know about you, but my anxiety level was pretty high. Maybe it was all those annoying commercials.

I read a book by Stacy Abrams, Our Time is Now: Power, Purpose and the Fight for a Fair America. In it, she briefly discusses Identity Politics and how it could save our country’s future. It inspired me to write about it. I hope that we can seriously look at how individuals can work to reform our broken nation.

I’m continuing my cooking adventure. This month I adapted another recipe for use with my sourdough discard. The result was “The Bomb!” I am continuing to write my cookbook and adding my recipes to this publication, along with others. Be sure to follow me and this publication to get them all. I am beginning to look at my family’s holiday favorites.

It’s hard to have a normal life right now, while everything seems to remain up-in-the-air due to the pandemic. I wrote several posts about improving your self-worth, building new habits, adjusting your lifestyle, and organizing your time to help you feel normal again.

I also wrote about writing and having to adjust from writing essays to blogging. There is definitely a learning curve. And speaking about writing, if you want to write for this publication, check out our mission and guidelines. I’d love for you to join our mission to live a simpler life.

Keep in touch.

Pat Davis, a retired teacher and editor of Living Simply and Simply Living, lives with her husband and neurotic cat, Neko. She loves to read, write, travel, bake, garden, sew, and craft.

--

--

Patricia Davis
Simply Living and Living Simply

Pat blogs about food, sustainability, and living simply. Sourdough is a particular passion. She also writes historical fiction with social justice themes.