Yapjaw: 9 out of 10 Doctor’s Recommend This Newsletter

Adam Dietz
Slackjaw
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

4 min readJun 19, 2024
C/O Troy Doetch

Slackjaw readers and patrons of comedy, my name is Adam Dietz and I am the editor of Slackjaw’s monthly newsletter, Yapjaw. Each month, I will showcase the best and brightest humor on Slackjaw in addition to some other cool stuff from equally cool spots.

Happy (belated) Father’s Day to all the dads out there. Dads, you’re either too stoic or insanely weepy and vulnerable. You can never find quite the right balance and we love you for it.

On this week’s edition of Yapjaw, we’re talking romcoms, werewolves, and Jack Handey. Want the goods? Keep reading!

Slackjaw’s Best In Show:

My Life As The Leading Lady In A 2004 RomCom by Kara Panzer

Photo by Alexandra Gorn on Unsplash

A Day In The Life Of Someone With Bangs by Hannah Wilkinson

My Bachelorette Party Will Be Different Because I Plan To Cheat On My Fiancé by Erin A Ross

Super Specific And Special Instructions With My Food Delivery Order by Mayur Chauhan

Great Work From Other Great Places:

A Referance Lettr 4 my Firrst Grayde Teecher 4 Ur Aplebeeez Summr Brake Serving Job by Angus Duffin in Points In Case

Points In Case

Are You a Werewolf, Or Did You Eat Too Much Cheese Last Night? by Bradley Meyers in Points In Case

In the Future, Everyone Will Sound Like Chris Pratt by Adam Campbell-Schmitt in Weekly Humorist

From The Slackjaw Editors’ Desk:

Personality Test To Determine If You’re Too Emotionally Fragile To Take Personality Tests by Emily Menez in Slackjaw

Photo by Alex Green

You’ve Been Selected For A Poll About What Americans Think! by Alex Baia in Slackjaw

If Trump Wins, I’m Going to Have to Move To Canada to Be Closer to My Long-Distance Girlfriend, Lisa by Adam Dietz and Troy Doetch in McSweeney’s

Jack Handey, Humor Writer And Comedy Legend by Alex Baia in Slackjaw

How Early You Should Arrive to Things According to Your Dad by Adam Dietz in Slackjaw

Editor’s Note:

I used to have this friend in college who I would only see movies with—that was the extent of our relationship. We met in a class, talked about an upcoming movie we wanted to see, saw that movie together, and then proceeded to only ever communicate when a movie came out that either of us wanted to go see. We’d meet in the theater parking lot and talk about the movie we were going to see, we’d then see the movie, and then afterwards we’d talk about the movie we had just seen in the parking lot before departing the cinema. We knew very little about one another because all we ever did was talk about movies. I didn’t (and still don’t) even know his last name.

Here’s a snapshot of the films that we watched together from 2010–2012.

  • Lincoln, which we both really liked. I remember after this movie, a woman—who looked like she’d fallen on hard times—asked if she could have my friends’s empty popcorn bucket, which he gave her with considerable grace. He reacted as it were a totally reasonable and expected request, which I admired.
  • The Expendables 2, which we both really-really liked, probably even more than Lincoln.
  • Silver Linings Playbook, not as good as Lincoln or The Expendables 2, but still pretty good. Robert De Niro as a die-hard sports fan didn’t really land for us.

A few years ago, I was going through the contacts on my phone, cleaning things up and such. When I got down to the M’s, I found my old friend’s name saved as “Movie Kevin” I saved his name as that because if you wanted to see a movie then Kevin was your guy.

Here’s to you Movie Kevin, wherever you are.

The Final Bell:

Be sure and follow Slackjaw on all of your favorite social media sites. Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, it’s all here.

Interested in submitting to Slackjaw? Of course you are! Our submission guidelines can be found here.

Spread the word, comment below, tell your friends. Keep reading, writing, drinking, eating, and doing your thing.

Until the next edition of Yapjaw, take it easy.

--

--

Adam Dietz
Slackjaw

Comedy writer with work in McSweeney’s, Slackjaw, Points in Case, etc. Editor of the Yapjaw newsletter.