Yapjaw: Slackjaw’s 10 Most Read Pieces Of 2023

Slackjaw
Slackjaw
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

4 min readDec 27, 2023
Image by Troy Doetch

Slackjaw readers and patrons of comedy, my name is Adam Dietz and I am the editor of Slackjaw’s monthly newsletter Yapjaw. Throughout the year, I’ve worked to showcase some of the best humor writing on the internet via this newsletter. And if I’m being totally honest, I think I did a great job!

There was was an abundance of high quality satire published on Slackjaw in 2023. Honestly, as someone who worked as a guest editor for Slackjaw for the latter part of the year, I can attest to the fact that there was a lot of quality satire that Slackjaw had to turn down.

In my most read pieces of 2022 newsletter last year, I thanked a bunch of people for providing me with guidance, opportunities, and so on. I’m not doing that again! But I do want to shoutout Emily Menez and Sianna Lani for being promoted from Slackjaw guest editors to full-fledged editors for 2024. I will be joining them in their editorial duties.

What’s left to say? Probably not a whole heck of a lot. I appreciate all the continued interest in Yapjaw, even if the vast majority of its readership is insecure comedy writers scrolling through to see if their work was featured. I know you and I see you because I am you.

On this week’s edition of Yapjaw, we’re counting down the 10 most read Slackjaw pieces for the year that was 2023.

Slackjaw’s 10 Most Read Pieces for 2023:

  1. Exactly How We, Your Airbnb Hosts, Will Spend That $900 Cleaning Fee by Alex Baia
Photo by Filios Sazeides on Unsplash

2. 25 Things Gringos Shouldn’t Say In Mexico City by Catherine Durkin Robinson

Photo By Author

3. The Jeffrey Epstein-Noam Chomsky Emails by Con Chapman

Jeffrey Epstein, photo by Stephen Ogilvy, public domain

4. A Wicked Stepmother With Empty Nest Syndrome Is Left Wondering, Now What? by Danielle Martinetti

Retro Emoji Wicked Contempt Woman Face Stock Vector (Royalty Free) 346601360 | Shutterstock

5. I Am A Silicon Valley CEO And I Need A Solution To The Trolley Problem By EOD by Michael Lodato

Illustration by Shane Swinnea

6. Sport Clips: Where MEN Go To Get A Haircut by Ben Kissam

Illustration by Shane Swinnea

7. 25 Things Yanks Shouldn’t Say In Australia Or New Zealand by Catherine Durkin Robinson

Photo By Author

8. Dear Valued Boyfriend, This Relationship Is Transitioning To A Subscription Model by Claire Haus

Image by Andrea Piacquadio via pexels.com

9. Nobody Appreciates My Erotic Bird Feeders by Laura K Duncan

Photo by GeorgeB2 on Pixabay

10. I Was A Fuck Boy And Now I’m A Fuck Man by Rob White

Art by Kate Miller @kateandtheworld on instagram

The Final Bell:

Be sure and follow Slackjaw on all of your favorite social media sites. Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, it’s all here.

Interesting in submitting to Slackjaw? Of course you are! Our submission guidelines can be found here.

Spread the word, comment below, tell your friends. Keep reading, writing, drinking, eating, and doing your thing.

Until the next edition of Yapjaw, take it easy. See you next year!

--

--