Writing Prompt for Small Steps

Roz Andrews
Small Steps
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

3 min readFeb 19, 2021
Photo by Click and Learn Photography on Unsplash

Recently I’ve developed a new craving — it’s not for chocolate, cookies or red wine (this time!), it’s for walking around a lake near where I live.

If I don’t go for a few days, I feel it calling to me, as cookies ‘call’ from the cupboard!

I give into this craving and head for the lake. As I walk along the path leading to it, I start to feel more relaxed. I notice the tall silver birch trees edging the path, guarding it like sentinels.

Approaching the lake, I hear the cawing of crows and the quacking of ducks. One day, the waters of the lake will be calm and tranquil. Another day, they will be choppy, whipped up by the cold winter wind.

Sunday was a bitterly cold, windy day but the wild weather was strangely calming. Swans were still gliding over the water and coming to rest with a splash. A long-tailed rat scurried along the water’s edge and disappeared.

Life was carrying on, despite the harsh weather. I wondered if the ducks, swans and other animals ever worry about finding food to eat. I decided that they don’t think like we do — they take each moment as it comes.

February’s writing prompt for Small Steps is:

“How does nature inspire you?”

Here are some ideas:

  • Have you had more time to explore nature during the pandemic? Has this led to you to appreciate nature more?
  • Describe a natural place that you love to walk in and explore.
  • How does the same place change with the seasons and/or from day to day?

Please submit your story to Small Steps by March 20th.

If you haven’t already written for Small Steps, check out the writing guidelines and leave a comment if you’re not already a writer.

As always, if you’d like to write on another subject, please feel free to do so!

I’m excited to read about how nature has inspired you!

Incorporate Mindfulness Into Your Daily Life

I’ve been making a conscious effort to live in the present moment, but it’s not easy! I often realize that, once again, I’ve become caught up in a long train of thought!

Thankfully, there are some easy ways to incorporate mindfulness and meditation into your life. Check out How to Build a Successful Meditation Routine by Caroline Schley for incorporating meditation into your everyday life.

I especially like the idea of a pre-meeting meditation. I tend to rush into Zoom meetings rather than taking five minutes to calm down and reconnect with myself before the meeting.

Take Care of Your Brain — and Your Body Too

Your brain and your body are connected. If you take care of your brain, your body will benefit too. In Simple Ways to Improve Your Brain’s Health, Vic Womersley looks at four ways to boost your brain, so that you feel better and think more clearly.

28 Positive Affirmations for February

If you’re finding it tough to get through February, check out 28 Positive Affirmations to Give You Strength in February. Try repeating a different affirmation each day and see if it makes a difference.

Enjoy the rest of the month!

Best wishes,

Roz Andrews

Founder of Small Steps

--

--

Roz Andrews
Small Steps

Writer, book editor, proofreader & founder of www.rawritersforhire.com and www.medium.com/small-steps, moving forward in life, one small step at a time.