I Was Laid Off 3 Times in 2022 — Here’s What You Should Know About Layoffs

And how I’m reinforcing my preparation.

Marcus Chan
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

--

How to Prepare For A Layoff | Marcus Chan
Image designed by the author.

Getting laid off is much like getting dumped. The more you love them, the more it hurts. And it crushes you every time.

Clearly 2022 wasn’t the joyride I hoped it’d be.

I went from leaving a politics-driven workplace to getting a dream job to getting laid off to getting a second dream job and getting laid off again.

Fuck, I’ve had my job alerts on for the past six months!

Don’t feel bad for me, though. This is business and layoff possibilities are ever-present. I’d make the same decision again if you take me back 2.5 months.

As brutal as the layoffs were, they helped me understand the dynamics of an average wage earner.

I never expected this to happen to me until they did. So, while you may be cozying up at your workplace, the sack really can happen to anyone (unless you’re in the public sector).

Here is what I know about layoffs now and how I’m preparing myself.

1. It’s got nothing to do with you

I used to think doing your best could minimise your chances of getting laid off because the company needs you.

--

--

Marcus Chan
The Post-Grad Survival Guide

Writer by title, storyteller at heart. Writing about life, money, and work. Newsletter: https://marcuschan.substack.com/ Ebook: https://bit.ly/3PgV5HH