instagram.com/wholesomecomic via The Wholesome Introvert

When We See New Possibilities

Sunny H
THE TURNING POINT
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

4 min readMar 1, 2022

--

Possibility — when our mind makes the connection between opportunities and our ability to carry it out

How wonderful, exciting, and fresh that must feel. When our hearts are so open and welcoming to changes that we can taste it.

I can’t tell you it will always be sweet; for me, it’s been a couple months salty filled with periods of bitter.

In my last newsletter, I shared that I met someone who I thought was a great fit for me, only to find out that was not the case. After some introspection and soul searching, I realized his defensive behavior and lack of respect for my wishes for space was what was causing me so much pain and chaos. It was a pattern with him, and my efforts in eliminating that pattern was met with resistance and emotional blackmail, resulting in my resentment and bitterness. Thankfully, that is all over now, but not after much hurt and damage. The saying of two good people aren’t necessarily good for each other can be applied here.

While this is very recent, I am moving my mind onward as best I can. I cannot afford not to put this behind me as soon as possible. As The Sober Vegan Yogi says in her piece, “The brain is very powerful, yet easily manipulated”. It has consumed six months of my time, and I’ve come too far in my journey to let myself be sucked back into unhealthy behavior.

Not only that, focusing on new possibilities welcomes in the beginning stages of healing.

So many times after an especially hurtful event, we find ourselves ruminating and questioning why this happened to us, or why someone can do this to us.

We may become spiteful, wishing ill on the other; or worse, actually acting out harm to them or ourselves. We can be stuck, not accepting what happened and look for closure in the wrong places. We angrily, maybe even rightfully, feel like life is unfair and what did we do to deserve this.

All these emotions are valid, and I’d argue that if we didn’t have some variation of this afterward, are we actually processing the event, or are we just suppressing. It is important we don’t deny ourselves the full range of emotions, within healthy outlets of course, and look for silver linings.

Seeing new possibilities allows us to be grateful to the experience, and any wisdom it may have brought. Maybe without this event happening, it would not light a fire under us to make the changes we need.

Seeing new possibilities somehow makes things all worth it, because we feel that we are able to move on. And when we do successfully move on, we will look back and realize how much more capable and resilient we are. When we are confident in our abilities to pick ourselves up, we then learn to take bolder moves and more calculated risks, because we trust in ourselves to be OK no matter what happens.

Seeing new possibilities lets us accept and appreciate what has or is happening. It lets us define what is important for us. We realize that an alternative way of living different than we imagined can be just as happy or fulfilling.

And in general, seeing new possibilities even without the backdrop of a hurtful or traumatic event is beautiful on its own. Colors become more vibrant, sensations more enhanced, and we vibrate at a higher frequency. We can just tell when someone is hopeful and optimistic towards the future without them directly saying so. If we’re lucky to have them in our orbit, their excitement rubs off on us and brings us along on their journey. And if we are open to it, we will be inspired to take our own journey.

The stories for February were a very timely read for me. I was reminded that while things can happen to us, we have to understand our temperament and choose what we do to make things better for ourselves. I know for me, it will take a while before I am able to move on completely; it will get worse before it gets better. As I give myself time to heal and adjust, I need to make sure I create new possibilities for myself, so I can look back one day and say this was just a pebble I mistook for a boulder in the road.

Bipolar Disorder And Addiction by The Sober Vegan Yogi

My last drink was 390 days ago and I’ll never forget that feeling of disgust. Otherwise, I was so healthy. I went to yoga almost every day, even hungover, and ate healthily. So, why was I ingesting poison? The brain is very powerful, yet easily manipulated.

Blinding (in)sights by Diana Santos

The insight came instantaneously to my head as if it was dictated by someone else — with my eyes closed, I am being forced to look inside rather than observe, contemplate, and criticize the outer world.

The Pain Of Letting Go by The Sober Vegan Yogi

Transitions and change are hard. They are inevitable but that still doesn’t make them any easier. I’ve been trying to stand back and let her find herself. Sometimes she wants me close and other times she doesn’t. It’s painful for me to not feel as important to her anymore.

I Finally Lost Myself in a Positive Way by Felishia La-Shae

I started realizing that a lot of the world lacked dreamers. It lacked people who would get lost in the clouds or the beauty of a nice breeze and blue skies.

May we all be grateful to the turning points in our lives that have led us to where we are today, and embrace the ones to come that will lead us to where we want to go.

Happy writing and be sunny :)

***Newsletter content and schedule may change and be sporadic for future***

--

--

Sunny H
THE TURNING POINT

Individual in her journey of growth and spirituality // Looking to capture others’ stories about life in THE TURNING POINT publication