I Wrote Story Every Day for 31 Days And This Is What Happened

My First Month on Medium Platform

TheTibor
Thought Thinkers
4 min readSep 8, 2022

--

Picture by author

My name is Tibor and I started my journey as a writer on Medium 31 days ago.

Back then I knew nothing about the medium and wasn’t sure what to write.

I decided to just write about the things I do and I got 40 story ideas in just three days.

What did I write about?

I am a software engineer and I try to learn and try many different things.

Screenshot by author

If you want to know how to best track your stories, check this out.

I just tried to give you the most of myself in many aspects and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I suggest you at the end of each story.

What did I learn?

First of all.. I have improved a lot in English. I am from Slovakia and I am still learning this language. I have never written so many words in English in such a short time in my life. 😅

Second, I learned how to better structure my writing (even messages), read a lot about how to engage you, and lots of different little skills from reading your stories.

I’m about to learn how to draw nicely. I decide to make my own illustration for each story. It is painful, but I think my profile looks more cool now.

And I want to mention one more thing. It’s a very different perspective on your work when you’re trying to explain it if you don’t know who would see it.

It’s kind of cool, presenting my words to “I don’t know who”.

What are my best stories and my stats?

In this period of time I got 2,600 views and got 5,200 claps in total. (8,300 with responses)

This is the first time I have looked at number of claps and it is a very pleasant feeling. I’m happy about it.

Five of my stories were distributed. Everything about programming. (Even stories that weren’t programming related but computers related.. Nice.🤔)

Tbh, last week in numbers was my worst. Maybe because of that, maybe because I’m not really in good mood, but I think it was mainly because I wasn’t involved in the community here.

If you are new here. Reading, commenting and clapping others stories is a great way to show yourself to others. Especially if you read the stories of people who don’t have thousands of followers.

Best stories

One thing I really like is that some stories are getting views even if they are weeks old. It’s great. I really like that feeling, I will help and entertain people even when I will not be active here.

What do I plan next?

I can’t post daily for the next 30 days. It takes a lot of time and I want to face the next challenge.

But I’m sure I want to keep writing here and reading your stories.

I am currently writing longer stories that I haven’t had time to write to achieve this goal.

For example, about how I code my personal assistant.

Member-only stories

But there is one thing. I’m thinking about making all my stories available to everyone for a while.

I wanted to experience what it means to monetize the stories and I don’t want to limit many of you anymore because of this smaller amount of money.

Maybe after longer time it would make more sense for me, but now.. I’m not gonna put my stories behind paywall.

Maybe I set up tipping, but don’t really know if you guys would be interested about that.

One more thing…

I was not alone in this journey and I want to thank you all for your comments, applause and support! But most of all I want to thank these people.

Carrie Morrison, Dean James, Revanth Goud, Gideon 6ix and 3 Minute Thoughts, Clariss, Yasiris Gomez, Khadija Iqbal, The Accidental Monster, Malvika, Vaughan van Dyk, See Cat, M, Stella Henderson and Maitri Mittal

Thank you!🖤

Anyway, enjoy my future or old stories and see you in the comments!

--

--

TheTibor
Thought Thinkers

I’m 22yo Slovak, who wants to experience many aspects of creative work in addition to studying IT and working as software engineer. Btw, still learning English✌