2017 In Review

Matthew Marshall
3 min readDec 23, 2017

--

For the past 2 years I’ve reflected on the year (2016, 2015). This year I’m changing the format a little because of Morgan J. Lopes’s post The Final Challenge of 2017. Here we go.

More: 2017 Goals, Q1 Check In, Q2 Check In, and Q3/Q4 Check In.

Captured Sep 2017 at Yosemite’s El Capitan

Favorite Song. Definitely Chance The Rapper’s Angels. Chance’s mix of rap, vocals, and gospel is incredible. The cherry on top was Chance in concert at Oracle Arena in Oakland, CA.

Favorite Movie. This is a hard one. I’m going to have to share a couple, in no particular order. Stranger Things 2 (incredible story telling and character development). Icarus (documentary about Russian doping scandal). The Big Sick (one of the funniest comedies I’ve seen).

Favorite Brand. Patagonia will always be one because of their strong stance on doing the right thing (sustainable materials, fair labor practices, strong leadership). Basecamp is the new one here because of their views on running a profitable company, treating employees right, focusing on what matters, and calling out businesses/VCs/etc who are unethical/inhumane/out of touch.

Favorite Website. Allsides.com is my favorite website of 2017. It stands in opposition is every news site on the web in that it’s mission is to show you many angles of the same event/story/law/etc and broaden your perspective. Highly recommended. YouTube is my runner up. It’s a combo of learning + entertainment that’s unmatched. In the same session I can watch Casey Neistat’s amazing short on running (watch it) or Milton Friedman on Greed.

Favorite Book. Easy choice and a book I HIGHLY recommend. Plus it’s free online. Getting Real by Basecamp.

Favorite Podcast. I love this podcast episode so much that I listen to it every quarter, Hurry: The Great Enemy of Spiritual Life. I can’t do it justice, you just must give it a listen.

Favorite Memory. The University of Georgia, my Bulldawgs, whippin’ up on Auburn in the SEC Championship. How sweet it is! 2nd place: Portland Timber’s MLS soccer game.

Favorite Experience or Trip. Wow, too many to choose from. Here are a couple of my favorites: Nicaragua, Lost Coast Trail, El Salvador, Haiti, and definitely Portland.

Trip to Labodrie Haiti in Dec. 2017

Most Impactful Learning. I am first and foremost an image bearer of God and part of his kingdom. That is where I put my faith. So no matter what happens on this earth I can have peace and have assurance that he has chosen me because of his steadfast love. This learning has come from consistent reading and Sundays at Reality SF.

Moments from 2017

Ski Model? :: Tahoe Feb 2017
Test driving super impractical car with Oliver :: Bernal Heights, SF Mar 2017
New Story Team in beautiful El Salvador :: March 2017
Lost Coast Trail CA :: April 2017
Social Impact House at Magnificent Rock Nicaragua :: May 2017
Portland Timbers Game with great friends Barrett and Sean :: June 2017

--

--