12 Things That Make Me The Writer I Am

Wambui Njuguna
7 min readAug 11, 2022

--

I recommend using some of them to increase your creativity

1. Reading

I’m an avid reader. I read all kinds of things; articles, poems, books, tweets, non-fiction, and sometimes fiction.

As a writer, I notice different writing styles and formats. Besides enjoying reading, I learn from writers who create the same content as I do.

I also learn a lot from other writers. I get to know just how much more there is to writing and advance my skills. Once in a while, I learn how to create different content: write scripts, create short-form content, and more.

A girl lying by the river reading a book
Photo by Nguyen Thu Hoai on Unsplash

Reading not only helps me escape when I need to, but it also helps me realize I am not limited to the kind of content I am familiar with and create. It helps me discover more writing opportunities.

2. Learning

I allocate time in my schedule to upskill.

During that time, I select one skill and find quality learning materials to learn from.

I incorporate what I learn in my writing. It makes me a better writer every day and helps me create relevant content that an audience enjoys.

I also follow established writers on social media. This makes the habit of learning [about writing] easier and is productive as they often post their knowledge nuggets to help other writers.

3. Practicing mindfulness

Not only when I’m writing but all the time.

Practicing mindfulness opens me up to everything going on in my environment.

Most of my articles are inspired by events that I experience or occur around me. Practicing mindfulness, therefore, is my main tool in picking up endless writing prompts from my environment.

4. Getting out of my head

Knowing when to get out of my head makes me the writer I am because if I didn’t, I’d never write.

As I have mentioned at least twice in my previous articles, writing makes a writer; a writer writes, that’s just it.

When I don’t control my thoughts, I overthink.

Here’s what would happen if I left my mind to wander when I’m planning on writing: Open the laptop, start a fresh or pick a draft, think of what to write, get the idea, wonder if you (the reader) will like it, after several minutes decide you might, re-think that decision, forget the main idea, decide I am not a good enough writer, close the laptop.

But I don’t. I know when it’s time to quit all the planning and the deciding and just get to the action.

That makes me a writer. That forms articles that you engage with. To quote James Clear:

Being in motion doesn’t get you any progress, taking action does.

I may feel like I’m making progress when I’m thinking about my voice in an unwritten article, editing a draft, or crafting a topic in my mind, but it is until I hit that publish button and you get to read the story, that I am a writer.

5. Engaging with other forms of art

I particularly enjoy paintings. Sometimes, I have no idea the concept behind the art, but I will still enjoy its beauty.

A painting of a face with multiple colors and words carefully etched in the background
Photo by Enzo Tommasi on Unsplash

I view art as anything a creative makes. From music and paintings to a crochet art. (I am currently learning how to crochet)

Engaging [viewing, listening, learning] with different forms of art increases my writing creativity.

6. Socializing

I intertwine socializing, professional networking, and work so that they all have some kind of relationship.

Seem strange? Socializing is not easy for me. I can go for days without attempting to communicate with other people besides the ones in my immediate surrounding. I have done that in the past and it affected various aspects of my life.

As a writer, networking is a tool I need to use to develop my career. Without knowing how to socialize, networking can be a tedious task.

The relationship between socializing, professional networking, and my work, is that I use socializing to improve the other two.

I already make an effort to improve my work and career, and socializing is another building block on that development board.

Viewing socializing like that helps me implement and constantly improve my socializing habits.

Socializing is important for creativity. Paraphrasing something I learned from Alex Mathers socializing nourishes a part of us that enhances our creativity.

7. Spending time in nature

Just me and the beauty of the universe.

Nature provides a calmness that helps me manage my thoughts, find a way through overwhelming stuff, and serves as my solitude haven when I am fatigued.

I enjoy water and forests the most.

A beautiful scenery of a forest with a bridge
Photo by Tim Swaan on Unsplash

As an introvert, I enjoy moments of solitude after a day’s work or socializing. I feel energized after spending time alone and ready to create.

My creativity is at its worst when my mind is overwhelmed with unresolved emotions, racing thoughts, and unfinished decision-making processes. Spending time in nature helps me deal with these thoughts and clear the clutter that inevitably accumulates in my mind.

8. Writing terrible stuff

I write terrible stuff, no I will not let you see it.

Sometimes I have no idea what to write, but I know I must, so I start typing away.

I don’t filter anything at that time; some of it makes absolutely no sense, some of the words are just a combination of stories, experiences, and memories, and most of them never make it to the internet.

So why do I do this?

To take action. I can’t quite place where I found this quote, but to paraphrase it, the author said “Just start with one (referring to a pushup) and see how many you end up doing”

The author was giving a solution to those who wanted to work out even when they didn’t feel like it. The former wrote ‘tell yourself you’re only going to do one and get into position; there’s a chance you will keep doing it and soon get in the zone and keep working out’

I follow that advice when I have absolutely no idea what to write. It takes me a few minutes to come up with an idea or find one in the mess of words I create, but when I start, I don’t stop until I hit the publish button.

9. Flow write

There’s probably a better phrase for that.

This differs from the previous point in that in this practice I already have a clear idea of what to write.

Sometimes, I have a topic in mind but I don’t know what exactly to write about it.

There can be several ways I can share the article and several ways to phrase the headline and eventually come up with the kind of content that covers what’s promised in that headline.

So I write everything that comes to mind, or I have researched about that topic.

Sometimes the paragraph I wrote as the introduction ends up as the conclusion and often I change the headline about 5 times.

I never have a precise topic to cover or a headline, but it doesn’t stop me from writing.

When I write everything about a particular topic, I eventually get the specific scope of the topic I want to share, and with that, I write, edit, and publish.

10. Journalling

Journalling, like spending time in nature helps clear my mind.

While spending time in nature helps me clear my mind, journalling does more of an emotional cleansing.

I insist a lot on clearing the mind and getting rid of clutter because I find it difficult to create something valuable when overwhelmed.

11. Writing drafts just because

I never use some of the article outlines I write, but I do it anyway.

The fraction of them that I re-visit, write and publish make great articles. They come in handy when I want or need to write, but I have nothing in mind.

I write them every time I get an idea or a prompt doing any related or unrelated activities [to writing] at any time and at any place.

12. Intentionally searching for writing prompts

This is different from when an idea props up in my head when I’m reading, engaging with art, or doing nothing. (yeah, I intentionally do nothing sometimes)

I visit the internet intending to find writing prompts. Pinterest is one valuable place for those.

I often find prompts suited for fictional writers but once in a while, I do find a non-fiction idea worth exploring and creating content about.

--

--

Wambui Njuguna

Compiling my first book, How to develop a healthy relationship with your environment, in my newsletter. Get access: https://wambui.carrd.co/