My Writing Journey

Just About $2.50-My Simily Experience

Wambui Njuguna
3 min readAug 1, 2022

I joined simily 23 days ago and have shared 12 posts so far.

I first read about Simily in an article by Kristina God. Their payment method was the first thing that picked my interest.

A little background

I’m an African writer.

There’s a disadvantage that comes with that if you enjoy sharing your articles on platforms.

There’s a joy that comes with the ability to share your musings with readers who find them relatable or learn from them.

I enjoy posting my articles on Medium because it gives me such joy, the ability to express myself the only way I know. If painting came naturally to me as writing does, I’d spend more time with a canvas than on my keyboard.

The second joy writing presents to most writers is the ability to earn a few (or a million) bucks doing what you enjoy.

A man holding up several notes
Photo by Osarugue Igbinoba on Unsplash

It motivates you to advance your skills, become better at what you do, and hopefully, you can someday live the freelancer’s life.

Medium gave me that first joy and Simily presented me the second one.

I checked out Simily as soon as I finished reading Kristina’s article. They paid writers through PayPal; that was music to my ears.

I love writing on Medium, I’d love to earn money from my articles but Stripe is not available in my country.

So, 23 days ago, I repurposed one of my articles from Medium and shared it on Simily.

Since then, I have been posting regularly, and have steady progress there.

As of today, my total earnings are $2.30.

Simily pays $0.02 for every unique view. The platform is still in its beta stage and every once in a while I experience a lag in updates, late notifications on comments, and problems with the save and publish buttons.

For my excitement in seeing the numbers past the dollar sign go up, I hope they make it through.

I have evaluated my progress in terms of the number of views and the platform in general and I have learned two main things so far.

1. Simily is a haven for fiction writers.

I am a non-fiction writer, and frankly, this intimidates me a little. Simily is very supportive of fiction writers but makes it clear they accept non-fiction, among other types of content.

I interact with some of the non-fiction writers and they do not make me feel unwelcome.

I have seen a comment urging non-fiction writers to leave simily to fiction writers, but it also creates a chance for writers who can’t access Stripe to get paid for their work.

2. Simily is an inverse of Medium for my content

Probably because it’s fiction-friendly.

When I first joined Medium, I wrote articles about introversion.

I enjoy writing about introversion because I am an introvert who best knows how to express herself through writing. I write about myself when I’m writing about introversion.

Those first articles did not do very well in Medium compared to Simily.

That may also be because I was a new writer, but I recently published a similar article a few days ago, and it has gathered the least number of views this week compared to other articles.

After some time on Medium, I expanded my topics and those articles gained more traction than my introversion articles.

On simily, however, these topics did not do very well. I have more views on my introversion articles than on articles about writing, ego work, habits, mindfulness, and productivity.

I am happy to have learned which articles excel on the different platforms.

I enjoy writing on Simily as much as I enjoy writing on Medium.

However, I admit I am prepared for the possibility that Simily doesn't pull through. I’m looking forward to enjoying the different perks associated with both platforms.

--

--

Wambui Njuguna

Compiling my first book, How to develop a healthy relationship with your environment, in my newsletter. Get access: https://wambui.carrd.co/