So… You Come Here Often?

Alice
3 min readSep 16, 2021

--

A little bit about me and my writing.

Photo by KoolShooters from Pexels

You may be wondering how I ended up here. Yeah, me too buddy.

My main jobs are graphic designer and parent, but in my spare time I’d like to figure out… you know… Life.

I’ve been a book-worm since I was a kid (I remember fiercely stating that when I grow I up I’m going to have a LIBRARY!) but never expected to be a writer.

One day I was walking along, and realised I was thinking in written words, rather than spoken words. I never knew that was a thing, but apparently it is. So I figured I’d better write them down.

Then I discovered Medium and read some stories that kicked me right in the feeling-bone. Oh, what a lovely way to connect with people! So I spent a couple of hours editing my stream-of-consciousness notes into something readable — and ushered my first baby-story into the world. It got such a lovely response, I thought I’d better do it again.

So here we are.

I’ve got a few favourite topics…

Self-reflection and personal philosophies:

Love and relationships:

Communities and finding our place in the world:

I hope you enjoy reading, and I’d love to hear what you think about any of these topics!

As Goethe put it, we must plunge into experience and then reflect on the meaning of it. All reflection and no plunging drives us mad; all plunging and no reflection, and we are brutes.”
Ernest Becker, The Denial of Death

--

--