Community Highlight #12, Sam a.k.a energy45

Alephium
3 min readAug 18, 2023

--

Regularly, we put the spotlight on an active member of the Alephium community. This is an opportunity to showcase their contributions to the ecosystem, what drives them and what they are passionate about! More episodes: #1, #2, #3, #4, #5, #6, #7, #8, #9, #10, and #11.

An IT guy that has been around since before the launch of mainnet, he is an active member of the community (he also mines and runs a node!). But there is more to that in Sam, a.k.a energy45, read on!

Tell us about yourself/your persona

I’m 40 years old, I have 2 children, and more than 20 years in SME IT management, currently consulting in IT. I like to analyze things from an helicopter POV, find solutions out of the box, be the best human being I can afford, and understand people and things with empathy. Love is the key to everything.

In that sense, I love my job since it unites perfectly technical and human dimensions.

How did you find out about Alephium?

Shortly (a few months) before the mainnet launch, an old friend and colleague active in Alephium’s community got me into the adventure. He talked to me about Alephium, which quickly got my primary attraction in the crypto world.

What excites you about Alephium?

New technical paradigm, new trilemma approach/compromise, wonderful community, very responsive and involved team.

What excites you about the future of Alephium?

My previous answer was a view of Alephium from the outside. But when you do your own little research, you begin to understand what’s under the hood…

That little ambitious engine quickly says :

I’m a layer one that unites the advantages of both BTC and ETH worlds (so UTXO and Account Model), and on top of that, dear ETH, I solve two big issues you’re encountering: scalability and your EVM flaws.

Did you know that more attack vectors are due to your EVM implementation? I master cross-chain (sharded) atomic operations (for DeFi & dApp security and efficiency) while handling precisely the asset management for smart contracts (APS). My solution is just more efficient & secure than yours, isn’t it?

To this, I had nothing consistent to answer, so I got a ride. Alephium’s exciting part for me is all the potential for such an undervalued solution.

How do you contribute to the Alephium ecosystem?

  • Mining and running a node;
  • being a part of Alephium’s discord’s life, answering DMs, questions, contributing to review some tweets, wearing an Alephium T-shirt;
  • Getting my daughter into the game.

What do you like to do in your free time? Any hobbies?

I like philosophy, psychology, geeking, exchanging with people, and inline roller.

This concludes #12 of the community highlights. Thank you Sam for sharing your passion with the Alephium community and contributing all across!

We’ll return with another episode of the community highlights in September 2023! Meanwhile, you can follow Alephium on Github, Twitter. Join the conversation on Discord, Telegram or Reddit.

--

--

Alephium

Scalable for devs. Secure for users. Decentralized for all.