The Debriefing — Episode 16: The Grateful Alive

Anton
3 min readMar 20, 2016

--

There’s two main goals I have for building and using Checkverse 1) to motivate yourself to accomplish the things you want to do with your life and 2) to stop and smell the roses.

This week’s mission is all about the latter.

Ever since I started Checkverse, my parents have been extremely supportive. In fact, the very first thing checked-off is “Take a picture of flowers” which my dad and I both completed standing outside Walmart’s garden center when I first showed him the app. Putting everything I have into Checkverse is a big risk, the biggest risk of my life and their support means a ton. Sometimes I forgot that so it was a pleasure to complete this week’s mission created by my mom, the one and only loribeza. She published “Gratitude Challenge” as a way to reflect on the awesome things in life. This was the most fulfilling mission I’ve completed and really captures what Checkverse is all about.

Here’s the proof:

Those finish: “…be your better self” and “…helped you along the way to becoming you”

The Debrief

Completing this mission was therapeutic. It feels good to say “Thank you” or really pay attention to something great that you don’t give much thought to. Most of my day is full of stress about building a product I’m proud of that I want to share with the world. I don’t notice how many wonderful things are all around me. This week I did.

I have an incredible sister. She’s two year’s younger than me, but she’s still the person I go to for advice. Sam’s always made my life easier. From regularly telling me that I’ve got nothing to worry about to doing my taxes every year (the birthday present that keeps on giving), Sam, you make my life facile.

I have wonderful someone who pushes me every day. My fiancé Alyssa never lets back down from the things I’ve set out to do. Without her there would be no Checkverse. I’d likely still be telling people “Someday I’m going to start my own company and make the things I want to see in the world”. Thank you Alyssa, because now I have :)

I have places to explore. Whenever I get bogged down with a design, marketing or programming problem, I have all of NYC to explore. There’s so many nooks and crannies all within walking distance. There’s people everywhere and the streets are full of life. To relax and get my thinking straight, I wander around.

I have a beautiful view of the city. I really love Brooklyn. Manhattan is cool, but it’s hard to see the skyscrapers when you’re surrounded by them. We live near the East River and have an inspiring view of the city. It feels surreal to just look west to see it. It cements that I’m finally here, I’m really doing this.

I have the sun. The sun has been out most of the week and it always immediately puts me in a good mood. Man I really like the sun. It really made a Monday.

I have a bodega downstairs. This is probably a bad thing, but I’m always less than a minute away from Sour Patch Kids. I’ve been pretty good about it so far, but my guilty pleasure snack is ready for my moments of weakness.

I have fantastic parents (who make fantastic missions). I hope I’m half as good when I have kids.

I’m feeling pretty positive tonight. If you’re looking for some positivity too, I absolutely recommend taking-on this mission whether or not you use Checkverse. It’s a great little exercise to help smell that rose smell.

Till next time!

Your pal,
Anton

That concludes this episode of The Debriefing. If you like it then you shoulda putta heart on it.

If you like the idea of creating or taking on your own missions, get an invite for Checkverse today.

Or, for more of The Debriefing, check out the other episodes via these convenient hyperlinks:

--

--