7 thoughts after 7 days: Split, Croatia

Thoughts on beginning our last month in Europe

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad
4 min readOct 11, 2016

--

South America feels so long ago. Heck, Prague feels like ages ago.

Time is moving at a strange pace and I don’t know whether or not to grasp onto it or just flow with it.

We’ve kicked off our last month in Europe and we’re just about 2/3 of the way done with Remote Year. It’s surreal. Not a ton of words for that right now, but here are some things that have hit me within the last week.

1. It’s taken me 7 months to force myself into a routine.

Oops.

I think routines are given a bad rap. Or at least I gave them a bad rap. I thought they meant you couldn’t be spontaneous. Not true!

I’ve always known that I work best in the mornings. But I like to sleep in. Oh, and my team is on the west coast, so they’re not really online until 5pm European time. What’s a gal to do?! How do you make a routine out of that?!

Well, I recently came to terms with the fact that I just need to wake up early, get some me time in, eat a balanced breakfast, do some work, break for some exploring, and then finish the day working. I need a routine. Crafting a routine for myself for the past week has allowed me to feel better about work and myself.

2. Familiarity can sometimes lead to a different type of exploration.

I’ve been to Split before — but that’s a good thing.

I only spent a few days here two years ago, but being somewhat familiar with the city makes me feel a little less stressed when it comes to packing everything into one month. Having been to place before — even if it was a brief trip, makes it feel a little more like home.

3. A good workspace changes everything.

I wasn’t in love with our workspace in Belgrade and I kind of let it affect my work in terms of inspiration and productiveness.

In Split, Remote Year has built their first co-working space, WIP, and it’s awesome. There’s amazing light, plenty of space, and it really feels like a true co-working space.

Having such a great space promotes community, getting shit done, and creates a constant in this crazy life we’re living. As a remote worker, having somewhere to go and work that you actually like is super important. I’m really grateful to have a space (close to my apartment!) that I can’t wait to go to in the morning.

4. I’m happiest when I’m by the beach.

For some reason, I always forget how happy the water makes me.

Falling asleep the sounds of the waves. Spending a weekend on a boat. Watching the sunset change the colors of the sky, the water.

It’s things like this that calm me and make me think about where I want to be after Remote Year. Where will make me happiest? How can I live a life that I don’t feel like I need to escape?

5. Talking it out is important.

Whether it’s work or personal, I need to remember that picking up the phone or having a video call with someone can make a world of difference.

Before I left Belgrade, I FaceTimed with one of my best friends for maybe ten minutes and it just made me feel so happy inside. I was grateful we have been able to have each other’s backs for so long.

Last week, I had a quick check-in with team member and it inspired me. I was feeling a little, well, lost. Having a chat and just throwing ideas out there made me realize why I’m doing what I’m doing and why I love it.

6. To get ahead, you need to adapt and learn.

I think there’s an idea out there that after you finish school, you’re done learning.

Nope.

Not true.

Why? Because in order to advance in your career, you need to make time to learn. You need to put yourself in situations that stretch your mind.

I’m excited to be forcing myself to learn a little more this month, and that’s all thanks to my Cousteau family.

7. On finding your people.

This is a reminder.

Remember back in Córdoba, when there were moments of “Holy shit, I’ve found my people!”?

Well, you had those moments. And no matter what people do or say now, remember how they made you feel in those moments. Remember how it felt to feel comfortable and confident with a group of people you had known for less than a month.

I’m grateful for finding my people. Cheers to y’all.

Oh, and here are some tunes for if you ever find yourself on a yacht in the middle of the Adriatic Sea.

Check out my recaps of Còrdoba, Buenos Aires, La Paz, Cusco, London, my Remote Year hiatus, Prague, and Belgrade. Follow along on Instagram for my daily adventures.

--

--

Zoë Björnson
Chronicles of a Zomad

Writing things. Product-ing @wearequilt | Prev: @redantler, @beyond, @aboutdotme | Did the @remoteyear thing.