The Shovan Chronicles — Part 8

Truth and Deception

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

--

Photo: Marc Marchal at Unsplash

Read Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7

Unfrar saw Quench’s worried frown in the flickering firelight and raised a questioning eyebrow in his direction. Quench caught his gaze. “What more do you want from us?”

“Wendy will continue with her reading of the archives. You, Quench, are to be introduced to the forest dwellers.”

“Introduced?”

“The creatures will meet their Black Redeemer.”

“The Black Redeemer?” Quench was puzzled. “Kirnow also said that, what do you mean?”

“The Black Redeemer is a harbinger of wisdom and knowledge.”

“I thought it was something to do with a game.”

“The Black Redeemer leads the game of Catchturn as a symbol of the mythical figure. Legend says that the Black Redeemer went to a land far away, and will return to us.”

“But I’m not the Black Redeemer.”

“Maybe it was your destiny to return to this land.”

“Return? I’ve never been here before. Don’t tell me you believe this nonsense too. If I was the Black Redeemer I think I’d know about it. And if its wisdom and knowledge you are expecting, well, unless it’s about serving drunkards in a tavern…

--

--

Moshe Forman
Lit Up

When I’m not a poet or novelist, I'm exploring Self, Food, Society and History. And when I'm not doing that, I'm a technical writer. www.mosheforman.com