Navigate the Storm to Cope with Rising Costs in Today’s Economy

Live with intentionality

Nicole Akers
Publishous
4 min readMar 4, 2024

--

Photo by Liza Summer on Pexels

In times like these, it’s common to feel the weight of the world on our shoulders. From the grocery bills that seem to climb higher each week to the ever-increasing cost of gas and everyday essentials, it’s understandable if you’re feeling overwhelmed. The financial strain can leave us feeling anxious, stressed, and uncertain about the future.

You’re not alone in experiencing this. Many of us are navigating the same challenges, trying to make ends meet while also striving to maintain some semblance of normalcy in our lives. But amidst these challenges, it’s crucial to remember that there are ways to cope and strategies to navigate through these tough times.

First and foremost, it’s essential to prioritize your needs and focus on what truly matters. While it’s natural to feel pressure to keep up with the latest trends or indulge in luxuries, sometimes taking a step back and reevaluating our spending habits can help alleviate some of the financial burden. Consider creating a budget that allows you to allocate funds towards essentials like groceries, utilities, and transportation while setting aside some savings for unexpected expenses or emergencies.

I recently wrote about the struggle here, but I’m curious what you’ve experienced.

In the midst of rising costs and economic uncertainty, finding balance may seem like an uphill battle. But by prioritizing your needs, exploring cost-saving strategies, practicing self-care, and seeking support when needed, you can weather the storm and emerge stronger on the other side.

Enjoy some of our latest reads:

The Short Routine That Produces 8 Articles a Week Alongside My 9–5 by Eve Arnold

It’s 6 AM I’m hazy.

It’s dark still outside in the UK, and it’s hard to mentally adjust to work staring into the blackness but alas, I’ve been doing this for 3 years; it’s become second nature to me now. → READ MORE

3 Books Practically Offering a Masterclass in Body Language by Darshak Rana

Did you know that the body does 70–90 percent of the talking without your knowledge and permission?

Yes, words are only the smallest part of communication!

Though people lie with their words, their bodies can’t. → READ MORE

Why Successful Independent Women Struggle To Find a Partner by Desiree Peralta

I received a call from someone who had not spoken for a long time, one of my best friends from school, Abigail, back when I was 13.

She wanted to reunite with all the girls from the 2010 class because she wanted to give us important news and know about → READ MORE

Setting *Ridiculous* Goals vs *Simple* Daily Habits by Anangsha Alammyan

Set goals.

Break down the goals into actionable steps. Plan how and when you’ll carry each stage out of your big goal.

Execute.

That’s how we make dreams come true, right? → READ MORE

The Only 2-Minute Daily Habit That’s *Actually* Changed My Life by Neeramitra Reddy

I’ve tried tons of 2-minute daily habits.

Most (like chanting affirmations) were feel-good fluff. Some (like box breathing) were quick-fix “hacks.” A handful (like flossing) proved useful long-term… → READ MORE

Confronting Demons in My Pajamas by Crystal Jackson

I often wish I was a person who took loss in their stride. A person who didn’t break quite so easily or thoroughly. But that’s not who I am.

On Saturday, I spent the day in my pajamas facing my demons. → READ MORE

Tales from Susie’s Cozy Corner by Walter Bowne

Susie’s sausages are the best.

While not a huge consumer of sausages, I do appreciate them, especially when juicy and plump and flavorful.

Susie’s is a cozy, casual, unassuming cafe in a Pocono hamlet, cash only, and open only for breakfast and lunch. → READ MORE

My Nephew is the Relationship Guru We All Need by Gaurav Agrawal

I have lived with over seven kids in my life, and none of them were mine. Among these kids, the one kid who impacted my life the most is my nephew, Vaidik.

I still remember the day he was born, black-haired, with big eyes. → READ MORE

Contrarian Life Advice From a Former Educator Who Didn’t Really Like School by Yiling Ong

I recall the day my subconscious self linked schools to prisons.

I was the client in a career construction interview and narrated my favorite story, which was set in Auschwitz.

This spurred my colleague to get me thinking of possible prisons in my life. → READ MORE

How To Easily Handle Life Challenges and Succeed by Tom Handy

When things are going well for you, your life can come crashing down when challenges enter. Many of these challenges will suddenly appear, and some will grow bigger over time. → READ MORE

Sometimes the Black Dog Still Catches Me by Leon Macfayden

I spend my life running from depression. My loved ones, hobbies, medication, and writing usually give me a healthy lead. “The Black Dog” isn’t even in sight most of the time. But now and then, it bites at my ankles. Sometimes, it catches me. → READ MORE

Sending healthy wishes,
Nicole

--

--

Nicole Akers
Publishous

Teacher | Happy Mom of 2 brings amazing tips on parenting, learning, & lifestyle | 🐶 Mom | Bestselling Author | Founder of Publishous. Keep that smile.